We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“such a delicious food!”
Review of Bejte Ethiopian Restaurant

Zietenstrasse 8, 10783 Berlin, Germany (Schöneberg)
030 / 262 59 33
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #52 of 5,480 restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Cuisines: Ethiopian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Schöneberg
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Schöneberg
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    54
    19
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Bejte Ethiopian Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“such a delicious food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Eating with the hands is indeed fun! The food was tasty, spicy, interesting, with meat, veggies and linsen. One of the best places for eating in Berlin. The personal was very kind. The honey wine is good and the coffee ceremony ist very beautiful. Getting somehow near to Etiopia in Berlin!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“An experience to remember...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My review comes a bit late but the memory is still vivid as I was thinking of my best food experiences. Bejte is not for the weak hearted and Ethiopian food is delicious but very different. We had a huge platter with a variety of flavors we got to eat using our hands and a wonderful -not baked- pie. We also had Etiopian beers! Brilliant. The service was also unbelievably friendly and the whole place was not overly decorated but authentic and modest. Great value, also. We left Bejte happy and we will definitely visit it again during our next trip to Berlin.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“excellent tasty food in a friendly relaxed setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I have dined out in Berlin many many times and I have to say this is one of best places I have eaten in. It’s not glamorous by any means but the food is really good and service is very friendly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Cool experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Very interesting and different. We went because its close to the hotel and had good reviews on here. We go a platter which was amazing! Beer was fantastic! There's one dessert and is so lovely! Like peanut caramel with chopped peanuts on top. 2 beer 2lg water platter and dessert was like 36 euro. Brilliant!
Definitely worth a visit! Staff were friendly!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Good authentic ethiopian in Berlin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

If you get tired of sausages and pork and you still love Berlin, you really ought to try something different. We first experienced Ethiopian in Cape Town and judged by that experience, Bejte is as authentic as they come. You get to eat by your hands and the flavors are just overwhelmingly delicious. If you are lucky, you can witness the process of roasting Ethiopian coffee beans with a chance to taste the freshly roasted coffee. The service is friendly and the food is just delicious. Great value! Do not miss the opportunity to taste Ethiopian beers, they are pretty hard to come by anywhere else in Europe.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bejte Ethiopian Restaurant also viewed

Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Bejte Ethiopian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bejte Ethiopian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.