We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small restaurant with nice ambient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joseph Roth Diele

Joseph Roth Diele
Potsdamer Strasse 75, 10785 Berlin, Germany (Charlottenburg)
030 / 26 36 98 84
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #434 of 6,198 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Charlottenburg
Description: This restaurant is named after an Austrian Jewish writer who lived next door before being forced into exile by the Nazis. Known for German-style sandwiches and cakes.
Lisbon
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Small restaurant with nice ambient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a small restaurant very crowded with local people. We waited for a table. We thought we were in a queue but surprise the last to arrive was the first to be seated. We fight also and we got two places for us. The restaurant itself has not anything special, only the ambient and it is very cheap for the german standards. The food not bad for the price I asked pork was fine, my wife asked beef and she said was fine too. The bill for two, 46 euros with a bottle of wine and a desert. The wine was about 25 euro so the meal itself very cheap.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    69
    11
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Governorate, Lebanon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Home Style Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Since I live in the Middle East, where fresh pork is scarce, I was looking forward to a good meal in Berlin with pork. My wish was fulfilled tonight when I ordered the schnitzel at this restaurant. The home made noodles and salad were also good. The atmosphere is friendly and welcoming. A nice choice for traditional wholesome food, good beer and a good time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Monrovia, Liberia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A nice experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Great surroundings in what is really a local bar, nice local food, good atmosphere, would go again for sure

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“homely and warm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

A homely and welcoming family restaurant, with a nice atmosphere - seemed to be full of locals, always a good sign. Glad to have found it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Don't come for the food. Come for the atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed at the B&B hotel opposite this place and were in need for a quick bite and a beer. The food is 'not killing', the beers are like everywhere, service is cool, but the atmosphere is great! Full till the last chair, live music, lively people. Lovely!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joseph Roth Diele also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Joseph Roth Diele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joseph Roth Diele, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.