We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wombat's Berlin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Wombat's Berlin to your Saves list
Wombat's Berlin
Alte Schoenhauserstr.2, 10119 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 334 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Banbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Travelled here in April 2013, we arrived on a very rainy friday night just before midnight & were greeted by some very friendly staff. Once all checked in we were given free beer tokens to use during happy happy hour!
Our room consisted of 2 bunk beds & was in very good condition. The hostel itself was very well maintained & the top floor bar was a very nice place to go & chill out.
Very happy with our stay & would recommend to anybody looking for a cheap but still usable place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    177
    24
    8
    4
See reviews for
13
101
129
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Helpful staff, clean rooms, reliable wifi... but I recommend avoiding the food, including the breakfast the hostel offers, in the attached restaurant. The burger might have been the worst I've ever had. It was obviously heated up from a pack of frozen patties, not kitchen-made. Big let-down from a place that advertises itself as authentically Southern. The breakfast the hostel offers there is similarly poor. It is advertised as a great bargain for E3.80, but in actuality it doesn't amount to much more than from-concentrate juice, yogurt, and toast. Croissants and eggs cost extra. There are plenty of great cafés in the neighborhood - 50 meters away is Rosa To Go (despite the name, great seating), where I had a delicious mozzarella/tomato/rocket toasted bagel and tasty espresso machiatto for E4.70.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for three nights here at beginning of May following a great stay at The Wombat in Vienna! Very easy to get to using the S and U travel systems. Rosa-Luxembourg U stop literally around the corner. On arrival staff are very helpful. Always there for tips on what to do and places to eat! We got a private room and bathroom at very reasonable price with our own small balcony! Bedding and towels provided and all spotless. Bar on 7th floor has roof top terrace with great view and lots of drink offers! Breakfast is €3.50 and not alot on offer. I'd recommend a wander on street for coffee and Bretzel!

Overall we were extremely happy and will stay again here and can't wait to try another Wombat!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I stayed at Wombats after reading other reviews on trip advisor and I was very impressed - check in was easy, staff were friendly and helpful.
Rooms were great - light, airy and very clean! Security lockers in the room were big enough to store my mini suitcase in and had loads of space to spare!
Breakfast was good also.
I would certainly recommend wombats to anyone visiting Berlin and I'd certainly stay there again! :o)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed for the weekend with a friend to do the Berlin Half Marathon. The Hostel came recommended and it was perfect. Friendly staff clean rooms and a good breakfast. The Bar (and the Happy Hour) were great after a long day sightseeing. Would go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Wombat's City Hostel in Berlin definitely lives up to the reputation. It has clean facilities, great staff, and a good location.

The rooms, bathrooms and kitchen were all in great shape. It was really nice to have an ensuite. Plus, the two of us booked a six-bed room and were placed in a four-bed room - bonus!

The breakfast was mediocre but between that and making your own it was great to have options.

The staff were helpful and the free map is really well done with recommendations for cafes, bars, clubs, and places to eat. Seriously, go to Dolores and get a burrito.

I have only one concern: each floor, room, and locker is very secure with key card entrance but the front door in the lobby is wide open all day. This is great in creatin a welcoming atmosphere but it always welcomes unwanted guests. Twice some children came in from off the streets and tried takin people's valuables ie. electronics. All it took was a firm "No!" and they were deterred from me to the next individual but it is still a concern. The lobby (and bar upstairs) is the only place the Internet works so obviously people will have phones or computers with them downstairs. I don't expect Wombat's to be held responsible for my belongings but I do expect them to hold a responsibility in my safety and, frankly, that did not make me feel safe.

Overall I had a pleasant experience and will be staying with Wombat's in Vienna. I only hope that the door to the lobby will remain closed in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed here in November with 5 friends and we shared a private room. Lovely big windows, good lighting, plenty of space for your stuff, very clean, comfortable etc. Location very central, close to Alexanderplatz so very good transport links, lovely and affordable Vietnamese restaurant right across the street as well.
Staff were very friendly, good cooking facilities, bar upstairs was great, we all got a free shot and a free drinks voucher when we first arrived so that was an added bonus! Really good atmosphere there, it's a big hostel so there were loads of interesting people to meet. Great party vibes, modern facilities, a brilliant place to stay in Berlin. Good value for money, I couldn't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wombat's Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wombat's Berlin

Address: Alte Schoenhauserstr.2, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 334 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Wombat's Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wombat`s Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wombat's Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.