We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to Wombat reputation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wombat's

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Wombat's to your Saves list
Wombat's
Alte Schoenhauserstr.2, 10119 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 323 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lives up to Wombat reputation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Wombat's City Hostel in Berlin definitely lives up to the reputation. It has clean facilities, great staff, and a good location.

The rooms, bathrooms and kitchen were all in great shape. It was really nice to have an ensuite. Plus, the two of us booked a six-bed room and were placed in a four-bed room - bonus!

The breakfast was mediocre but between that and making your own it was great to have options.

The staff were helpful and the free map is really well done with recommendations for cafes, bars, clubs, and places to eat. Seriously, go to Dolores and get a burrito.

I have only one concern: each floor, room, and locker is very secure with key card entrance but the front door in the lobby is wide open all day. This is great in creatin a welcoming atmosphere but it always welcomes unwanted guests. Twice some children came in from off the streets and tried takin people's valuables ie. electronics. All it took was a firm "No!" and they were deterred from me to the next individual but it is still a concern. The lobby (and bar upstairs) is the only place the Internet works so obviously people will have phones or computers with them downstairs. I don't expect Wombat's to be held responsible for my belongings but I do expect them to hold a responsibility in my safety and, frankly, that did not make me feel safe.

Overall I had a pleasant experience and will be staying with Wombat's in Vienna. I only hope that the door to the lobby will remain closed in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    152
    18
    8
    4
See reviews for
11
90
109
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed here in November with 5 friends and we shared a private room. Lovely big windows, good lighting, plenty of space for your stuff, very clean, comfortable etc. Location very central, close to Alexanderplatz so very good transport links, lovely and affordable Vietnamese restaurant right across the street as well.
Staff were very friendly, good cooking facilities, bar upstairs was great, we all got a free shot and a free drinks voucher when we first arrived so that was an added bonus! Really good atmosphere there, it's a big hostel so there were loads of interesting people to meet. Great party vibes, modern facilities, a brilliant place to stay in Berlin. Good value for money, I couldn't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow via Aberdeen and Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights in April during the Berlin half marathon. As a "more mature" guest who would also need a good sleep before the event I was a bit apprehensive of staying in a backpackers but it was great. Clean quiet modern rooms (we stayed in a dorm with 3 bunk beds and an en suite shared shower/ toilet/washroom), really good value breakfast and the rooftop bar was a great place to relax. Location was great too, right next to the Rosa Luxemburg station. Staff were really friendly and it was a pleasure to meet other travellers. All in all, a success.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 214 which looked out onto the main drag but it was still pretty quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed in Wombat from 1-6 April 2013. I arrived in the wintry season and the weather was cold but the staff were warm and welcoming. They are knowlegeable and ever willing to help travellers to pin point the tourist attractions on the map. They give free city maps, U/S Bahn subways which were very useful to me. It is very centrally located, close to subway - a stone throw away. Shopping centers like Galleria, Alexa and many others were close by. Most of the attractions are also within walking distance from the hostel.
There were 4 of us and we booked a 6-dorm room. The beds were very comfortable and clean. The room was big with bathroom attached. It was so cosy staying here. The toilet was big and clean too. Security was fantastic.
Best of all, they give a free welcome beer. The beer during the Happy hours cost only Eur 1 for a beer.
I would recommend to all travellers visiting Berlin. Don't miss this hostel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Clean; great location (few minutes walk from Rosa-Luxemburgplatz, right across from a lovely Vietnamese restaurant); friendly, helpful staff; great environment to socialize with other travelers. The bar on the 7th floor was always lively. I was backpacking for 3 weeks over Christmas and this was the first hostel that I didn't wake up in the middle of the night because I was freezing!! The only downside is that the internet does not reach the rooms! One of the best hostels I have stayed at. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We had a really pleasant experience staying here. It is perfectly well located, very big but still has that hostel feeling of it. Staff is really friendly, they even helped us find a restaurant fitting our needs. We first booked a shared room, but we decided to upgrade to single room, and they helped us change that with no extra fee. The breakfast at the hotel is cheap and really good, I mean nothing special, but it's good quality. The only bad thing is that they only have internet in the lobby, I guess this is to make people interact, but still, I want my internet haha. Anyways, it was a really good experience, and our room had a nice balcony with a view to the TV tower.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

After travelling around Europe on our TopDeck tour, we made it Berlin and were ecstatic to arrive at Wombats. Hands down the BEST hostel we stayed in on our whole tour. Clean, comfy, modern, great breakfast, free wifi. Will definitely be staying here again upon my return to Berlin!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wombat's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wombat's

Address: Alte Schoenhauserstr.2, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 323 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Wombat's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wombat`s Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wombat's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.