We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome modern hostel with great vibe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wombat's

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Wombat's to your Saves list
Wombat's
Alte Schoenhauserstr.2, 10119 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 321 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Awesome modern hostel with great vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of an organised tour in December 2012.

This was an organised tour so we didn't have a choice of where we stayed but our stay at Wombat's was great. Check-in was really quick - to get your key, they ask for a form of ID as deposit (either any photo ID or a photocopy of your passport + €5, rather than your actual passport just in case you forget to pick it up again!). You need your key to access the front door of the hostel, the laundry room and your hostel room. You also get a welcome pack, which includes a map, breakfast vouchers (if you've paid for it) and some fake money, which you can exchange for a drink (small wine or small beer) in the rooftop bar.

We were in a four-dorm room, so had two bunk beds, a storage unit with 4 lockers (you need your keys to lock these, as the push buttons on the lockers respond to a certain key card - ask in reception!), some small chairs and a table. Each bunk has a small shelf, with an individual light and power socket on it - this is a really great idea, as you can turn the main light off and leave these on (either for yourself, or for others) so that you don't disturb people if you come back late. We were provided with bed linen and a towel each too.

The room was a good size with plenty of room for four people's stuff. We were near the end of a corridor so didn't hear any noise during the night, nor from adjacent rooms. There was a building site opposite the hostel and they started drilling a bit early one morning - the window was double glazed but we'd left it open as it was a bit warm and had to be up early anyway so it didn't matter. Plus the view from the room was pretty spectacular (see the photo of the Berlin TV tower or Fernsehturm Berlin).

The bathroom was a good size although the shower was a bit on the small size. Having said that, there was plenty of hot water and good water pressure.

Breakfast is in the adjoining restaurant and although there wasn't the largest selection, the food on offer was good. There was bread, bread rolls, cheese and cold meats, a selection of jams and spreads, cereals, fruit and tea, coffee and juices.

There's free Wifi available downstairs in the lobby - we did have real problems with the connection speed at peak times (it seemed to be one guy was able to use Skype and the rest of us couldn't do anything, not even send an email!) and it meant I just went back early the next morning. The signal strength itself wasn't an issue and there are also fixed pc's that you can use. You can get to the roof-bar by using one of the lifts and there was a great atmosphere up there, would be really sociable if you're travelling alone. Drinks were well priced and the others in our group who ate up there said it was good. All the staff were friendly and spoke great English.

Location-wise, the hostel is in a good position, close to Rosa-Luxemburg Platz U-Bahn stop (2-3 mins). It's about 15-20 mins walk to Alexanderplatz too.

Overall, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if visiting Berlin as, apart from the wifi bandwidth issue, it's very hard to fault this hostel - it has a great atmosphere, great rooms and is in a good location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    142
    18
    8
    4
See reviews for
11
88
102
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

A most excellent hostel in an excellent location. Informative staff and a modern hostel with spacious rooms, large personal lockers, individual power points and an excellent on site bar. The hostels location allows for an easy walk to many city landmarks, cafe, shops and museums. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I stayed here twice this year. It's right next to the Rosa-Luxemburg Plaz U-Bahn stop. Breakfast is included in the restaurant next door. The WomBar is great. It's on the roof and there is a great atmosphere up there.The rooms are clean. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Great hostel. Friendly staff, clean bedding, comfortable beds, free wifi, laundry facilities, bar open until 2am (also serves food). They wanted ID deposits for the key cards instead of money, and the cards are needed to access the hostel, room, laundry and lockers. Very close to the metro station too.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I loved this hostel out of all the places I stayed in Europe. The staff were friendly and helpful, the bar was great fun and the rooms were really nice. Comfy beds and even had a little table with cute little poof stools around it. I've told all my friends who go to Berlin to stay there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duisburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The hostel is relatively cheap comparing to the others around the whole Western Europe. The place is really clean, organized, safe (unbreakable lockers), and staff is really helpful. I've been there for 5 nights and definitely if I decide to visit Berlin again I already have made up my mind where to stay. Breakfast is offered for a good price and the terrace has a bar where you have to go before you go crazy through Berliner clubs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I have been pleasantly surprized by the Wombat group of Hostels overall... great value for money, clean and friendly atmosphere. This became part of my backup plan for Vienna, Berlin and Budapest. They always had accommodation options available and never killed my credit card. The free Wi-Fi access and free breakfast for every second day convinced me to return in future. One needs to remember that this is a value for money Hostel and not a luxury hotel… in order for the true value to surface. It was also one of the best hostels I visited in Europe.

Room Tip: Couples travelling, private room options available. If possible, reserve in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wombat's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wombat's

Address: Alte Schoenhauserstr.2, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 321 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Wombat's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wombat`s Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wombat's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.