We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, wine & food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lochner - CLOSED

Lochner
Luetzowplatz 5, 10785 Berlin, Germany (Charlottenburg)
+49 (0)30 23 00 52 20
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Charlottenburg
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent service, wine & food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Myself and my girlfriend each ordered the 3 course meal with accompanying wine. The waitress was very helpful and informative with her knowledge of the menu. The food was of a high standard and cooked to perfection. Having said that a couple of things could have done with a minor improvement (chocolate cake for desert being one of the them was not the most full of flavour). The wine that was chosen to go with each course was amongst the best i've had. Highly recommended if you want a romantic evening out or enjoy high quality food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    24
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by friends and luckily was only 50 metres from our hotel. Although a little pricey the food was absolutely amazing and the owner, a lovely lady who was the owner was so welcoming. We had the gourmet menu with wine and every course was delicious and the accompanying wine amazing. This restaurant is a must - amazing food, great wines, warm and courteous welcome - it's a must for any visitor looking for a gourmet treat in Berlin !

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent German Wines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Lochner is a modern restaurant offering you the choice of 2 different menus, on each menu you can choose for a 3-5 corse option. Cooking is very good and the presentation is modern. The highlight however is that they have paired each dish with outstanding German wines, if you place yourself in their hands you will have a wonderful trip around Germany's vineyards.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afton, VA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Not much to offer other than superlatives! Ate with my 19-year old daughter. We each had a 3 course meal with wine pairings. They offer 2 "menus" of up to 5 courses each, but you can choose whatever you'd like from either menu. The venison was especially noteworthy. Also, the wines were perfect with generous pours and even an occasional topping off (something I have not seen before with a pairing). In all, not cheap, but an excellent meal with pleasant, unobtrusive service in a contemporary but comfortably elegant setting.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

After a few days in Berlin, we wanted to eat something different from cabbage, apple and sausages. This restaurant is a gastronomic experience. We discovered refined plates created with local products and excellent German wines. The service was attentive. The restaurant is cosy. We thanked the chef who is also the owner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lochner also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lochner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.