We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lochner - CLOSED

Lochner
Luetzowplatz 5, 10785 Berlin, Germany (Charlottenburg)
+49 (0)30 23 00 52 20
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Charlottenburg
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

After a few days in Berlin, we wanted to eat something different from cabbage, apple and sausages. This restaurant is a gastronomic experience. We discovered refined plates created with local products and excellent German wines. The service was attentive. The restaurant is cosy. We thanked the chef who is also the owner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    24
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food and Great Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I knew at the end of our 10 day trip in Germany that we would have had enough sausage to last a few months so I searched for a restaurant that offered food beyond Weiner schnitzel and found Lochner. WOW! We took a German friend there who is hard to get a compliment out of and she raved about it. My husband and friend had the lamb and I had the special of the night. The plates could have been put back in the cabinet they were so clean. Service was outstanding and wine recommendation were spot on!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A very special restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

I was staying at the Intercontinental and Lochner was strongly recommened. It was a short walk. What a rare find. Incredible modern German cuisine. Fresh, sophisticated and outstanding cooking. A well planned and well priced wine list which totally worked ith the food. It was a joyous find. It is a must repeat on my next visit. Do have the tasting menu. Outstanding!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“A faultless dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We had high hopes for Lochner, after reading all the great reviews. We both love to cook and we dread those dining out experiences that leave us saying "We could have done this better at home" so we can be hard critics. Lochner lived up to all our expectations. The setting is stylish in an understated way and the service was stellar, from the moment we walked through the door till they bid us farewell after calling a taxi for us. Nothing was too much trouble and all the staff went out of their way to offer advice, interpretation, any assistance we wanted - we didn't have to ask for it but we never felt pushed. We opted not to have the wine pairings on offer, rather to buy a single bottle of wine. Our knowledge of German wines is limited but when we explained to our lovely wait person Dahbea the type of red we enjoy, she explained the selections so we were able to make a choice we were very happy with. Since we chose a wine that was actually on offer in the menu pairings, she even let us taste from the open bottle before we committed to our choice.

The menu works very simply: there are two 'sets', each comprising five courses; I think they change each month. Prices are given under each dish if you wish to order only one or two. Otherwise you can choose 3, 4 or 5 courses at fixed prices (cheaper than the sum of the individual dishes). If you want wine pairings, they too are priced by the 3,4 or 5 course rates. You can dip in and out of either menu with your choices.

If we thought the service was good, the food was simply amazing - one of the best meals we've enjoyed anywhere, absolutely world class. The taste blitz began with a wonderful amuse bouche: a shot glass with a parfait of black lentils, topped with beautifully flavoured chopped veal tongue, and crowned with a creamy and delicate carrot puree - a perfect marriage of flavours and textures. We both chose the marinated trout for starters, which was fabulous and for mains we had the Brandenburger saddle of venison, which was cooked to perfection (I'd say medium-rare) and practically melted in the mouth. We tried both the desserts on offer and were as impressed with them as we were with the rest of the meal.

Lochner isn't cheap but we considered it to be good value as it really was a wonderful dining experience. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it and hope we get back there some day.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely restaurant. Beautifully decorated dining room with friendly attentive service which is professional without being stuffy. Fabulous food which is well presented and with well chosen accompanying wines. Highly recommended for a special evening

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lochner also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lochner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.