We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lochner - CLOSED

Lochner
Luetzowplatz 5, 10785 Berlin, Germany (Charlottenburg)
+49 (0)30 23 00 52 20
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Charlottenburg
Hässleholm, Skåne Län, Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I had really no expectations since we were recommended this restaurant by the concierge in the neighbor Grand Hotel Espanade. We were told it should be a very good kitchen - and it was indeed!

In a warm summer evening we sat outside and the service was what you can expect in a good restaurant. Best of all was the skillful, nice and cheerful attitude from the waitress which made us really feeling welcome.

The menu was just perfectly enough to satisfy all tastes without being "too much". The possibilities to combine dishes in 3, 4 or 5-courses menu where some dishes could be either a starter or main course based on your own taste was brilliant.

The presentation was perfect and we could not demand for more when it came to the taste: Delicious! A bit waiting for the dessert was the only thing that possibly could get a remark, but then you really must be fussy for finding a complaint. The total impression was after all without doubt: Excellent.

The best experiences you often get when you don't expect much so my advice is: Go there, don't expect, and be very pleasantly surprised. I strongly recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    24
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire, UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Slightly disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were really excited about visiting Lochner because of all the amazing reviews. However, although the setting was quaint, we were a bit disappointed all round. Firstly, the menu was quite confusing as we weren't sure whether or not we could mix and match from different options, so we had to ask the waitress to explain it. Secondly, we were expecting the food to be out of this world, but I'm sorry to say that we found it quite average, considering the cost. It also felt a little like the waitress was trying to hard sell things at times, including dessert, which we didn't want. We also had an interesting debate about German cheese, which she said was fantastic but then couldn't name or offer us any!

Sorry - I wish we could give it a higher rating.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great food and a bit of wine education along way!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great service, relaxed atmosphere. Excellent food and wine. A bit pricier than we usually do for dinner, but the quality definitely warrants it. On the fixed price menu, for under 40 euro, got a three course meal, with wine pairings for each course, including dessert!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“will recommend it to friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My friends and I enjoyed a good night there. The service is good and just right. They have English menu, but if we had any questions, the staff can explain in English without problem. The food was delicious. And we can chose a good wine at a reasonalbe price from their wine list. That night we ordered a bottle of Pinot Noir from Germany. It was suprisingly good and we all enjoyed it. Will recommend friends to go there when in Berlin.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A delicious treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This restaurant was within walking distance of our hotel, which was our main reason for choosing it. We are so glad we did!

It is not the cheapest of eats, but anyone wanting to get beyond wienerschnitzel and currywurst will find an excellent example of German cuisine. The menu appears to be unique every night, based on local produce that is in season (when we visited at the beginning of May, asparagus featured heavily).

You can choose to have 3, 4 or 5 courses - 48 euros for 3. We decided on this, and were glad we did as we didn't think we'd be able to eat much more! The food is delicious, not too much, not too little, and we also went for the wine-matching, which really accents the flavours.

Our waiter was amazing - he told us all about the different German wines we were sampling and associated anecdotes in perfect English. Attentive, but not overbearing. The main room is only fairly small, so they don't appear to do many covers, but this allows staff (including the chef) to talk and socialise with the diners, which you may or may not like (we loved it).

I would definitely recommend it to anyone staying in this part of Berlin.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lochner also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lochner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.