We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delicious treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lochner - CLOSED

Lochner
Luetzowplatz 5, 10785 Berlin, Germany (Charlottenburg)
+49 (0)30 23 00 52 20
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Charlottenburg
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A delicious treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This restaurant was within walking distance of our hotel, which was our main reason for choosing it. We are so glad we did!

It is not the cheapest of eats, but anyone wanting to get beyond wienerschnitzel and currywurst will find an excellent example of German cuisine. The menu appears to be unique every night, based on local produce that is in season (when we visited at the beginning of May, asparagus featured heavily).

You can choose to have 3, 4 or 5 courses - 48 euros for 3. We decided on this, and were glad we did as we didn't think we'd be able to eat much more! The food is delicious, not too much, not too little, and we also went for the wine-matching, which really accents the flavours.

Our waiter was amazing - he told us all about the different German wines we were sampling and associated anecdotes in perfect English. Attentive, but not overbearing. The main room is only fairly small, so they don't appear to do many covers, but this allows staff (including the chef) to talk and socialise with the diners, which you may or may not like (we loved it).

I would definitely recommend it to anyone staying in this part of Berlin.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    24
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Second time here - and already looking forward to the third...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a great restaurant in short! We've visited twice now, and it has proven consistently very good, This is not a high-end restaurant with lots of fancy stuff, nor is it groundbreaking new cuisine - mainly a very professionally run, warm and welcoming place with great tasting food and wine to go with it.

We'd definitely recommend it, regardless of the occasion, and we look very much forward to the next time we'll be able to dine here - and make it a proper tradition!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heinsberg, Germany
Level Contributor
88 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best of the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is not your average weekend splurge. Lochner earned top marks in my book. I didn't exactly read the reviews thoroughly enough as the restaurant was close to our hotel, so we were a little hesitant to enter in our travel attire. We were so glad we did! The staff was welcoming from the start, Explaining the restaurant concept. You are able to order menu items individually or as a course, with three, four, and five course options available. All meals seemed to be made from German grown ingredients, including the excellent wine pairings. The food was fantastic! A definite recommend if you are looking for someplace special. Just realize that it can be pricy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food,excellent service..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We were 5 person, all satisfied with the food and wine and service.We all recommend this restaurant...Also the atmosphere is clean and ,sophisticated..

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent modern German cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We had a wonderful meal at this restaurant. The service was efficient and attentive but not overbearing. The food was modern , wholesome and delicious - not the heavy German cuisine but lighter and yet still authentic. Do go.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lochner also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lochner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.