We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good beer, hearty food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Max und Moritz

Max und Moritz
Oranienstrasse 162, 10969 Berlin, Germany
030 695 15 911
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #200 of 5,750 Restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Leiden, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“good beer, hearty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

A nice old beer hall to stop and drink their own beer while eating a hearty German meal of sausages and potatoes. Unique decor with the old comic characters of Max and Moritz decorations everywhere. Very friendly and happy place to pass an evening.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    123
    156
    31
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
“Excellent. Typical German food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

It was very good and very typical place with nice people. Don't forget to bring cash with you because credit card are not accepted.
It is a nice typical place that i will not forget.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best food in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The atmosphere is comfy and traditional-style, the smoked pork with sauerkraut is an absolute must-try! This was one of the highlights of our Berlin trip!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“good german food and beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

we came here on sunday evening seated upstairs.
had a good wholesome german meal.
mixture of locals and tourists good atmosphere
service was also good.
would book ahead just incase.
recommended

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Traditional food and fantastic beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was a great plce to visit - so glad I followed the TA tips. The restaurant can be found about a 5 minute walk from Moritzplatz ubahn. On entering the bar it was like stepping back in time; old tiled walls and dark wood furniture. We arrived at approx 1730 and soon after that the place filled up fairly fast. We hadn't booked a table and were very apologetically told they were very busy, but we could have the table for drinks only - which we did. We all drank the Kreuzberg Moller which is an extremely tasty natural and unfiltered beer. After a couple of drinks we were about to leave and to our delight were told they had a table for us. The prices are pretty reasonable for the quality of food and we were all highly delighted with our selections. I had a pork fillet with a plum and red wine sauce and it was excellent. If you can still fit in a desert after the generous main dish I would recommend the apple strudel. I cannot praise this restaurant enough and would urge you to book prior to visiting.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Max und Moritz also viewed

 

Been to Max und Moritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Max und Moritz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.