We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“long waits for poor quality food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Max und Moritz

Max und Moritz
Oranienstrasse 162, 10969 Berlin, Germany (Kreuzberg)
030 695 15 911
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #284 of 6,035 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Kreuzberg
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“long waits for poor quality food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Having to wait 45 minutes between placing an order and being served was a bad start. But you can only imagine the disappointment when huge pile of cheap stodgy grub was then slapped down before one. The flavourless salad was doused in that nasty synthetic supermarket vinaigrette. The herring salted to such extremes I had to take a gulp of water after every mouthful. The pork simply a massive pile of cheap cuts drowning in something like bistro gravy with a wedge of cardboard-like stuffing between every wedge of pork. What’s' more you're charged 2 Euros for a glass of slimy tap water. All very disappointing.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    226
    48
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“traditional german food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

the first time we decided to go to max und moritz, it was closed (it opens at 5 pm, so if you 're planning on going you 'd better have that on mind). The second time, when we finally ate there, we had the max und moritz steak ( the another one i can t remember the name). It was really good and very big and it costed 15,5 euros. I would suggest it for german cuisine and good bier.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“the best schnitzel in berlin!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

the place is a well respected astablishment in berlin and for good reason. Our experince there was great in all respects but mainly thanks to the perfect schnitzel dish that we will dream about for many years to come. that's the 1st place we're going if we ever get to berlin again.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food in a pleasant ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We enjoyed our dinner in this kind of pub in Kreuzberg. The food was good and the beer also. The ambiance was pleasant, the waiter helpful and the price very good.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great German food in Berlin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We had dinner at Max und Moritz, both the food and drinks were excellent. A little wait for the main courses but the restaurant was very busy. The local beer is very tasty. Portions very big and came with a salad also so you may not want a dessert. We had wiener schnitzel and the pork fillet with mushroom sauce, both very tasty.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Max und Moritz also viewed

 

Been to Max und Moritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Max und Moritz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.