We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic African Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Massai-Berlin

Massai-Berlin
Lychener Strasse, 12, 10437 Berlin, Germany (Prenzlauer Berg)
030 48625595
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #304 of 6,046 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Prenzlauer Berg
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic African Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Recommended by our tour guide and we were not disappointed. Such a refreshing menu with enticing dishes. The banana beer was good too!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    41
    15
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very well decorated interiors.... but....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

The food is not bad, but from a genuine African chef I would expect much more....more or less the flavours I had the privilege to taste in kenya and Tanzania.....pale reminiscences here....sometimes brisk service and a bill adequate to tableware and decorations but not to food and service!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Avoid Restaurant Massai - petty rules, no tap water”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Had dinner here with a group of 10 international and German friends on Saturday 10 Sept 2011.

My friend and I both ordered tap water. The request was ignored and finally two small glasses of tap water arrived after a reminder.

It was a hot and humid night (and the restaurant does not have airconditioning) - so I asked for a further glass of tap water. The waitress returned with a bottle of S. Pellegrino imported italian water. I told her to take it away, which she initially refused to do, but eventually did. The waitress started arguing with me suggesting it was against the restaurant's policy to offer tap water at all.

By this stage the conversation of the whole group of 10 had turned to this issue and we started talking about basic human rights, the UN's Millenium Goals and how London's mayor encourages restuarants to offer free tap water - with no shame.

Later the restaurant owner ambled over to put his oar in... while he could have simply given me a glass of tap water - he decided to dig in and defend his policy - and tell me a load of nonsense about how he's worried about litigation from patrons falling ill having drunk their tap water. He was so annoying I eventually told him to leave me alone.

So - if you want tap water with your meal - avoid Restaurant Massai - in Lychener Strasse, Berlin

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good food, nice ambience - service slow and unfriendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

I believe the food was good (I liked it but have no other experience with African cuisine). We had a huge sharing plate for three at a very good price and did not manage to eat all of it as it was too much.

Unfortunately we had to wait 1 ½ hours for it although the restaurant was almost empty. The waitress did not apologize but was rather annoyed when we pointed it out. They also made a mess with our drinks order and made us feel uncomfortable for it. The interiors are beautiful though some more light would be nice (why is it so dark?) .

All in all: Very good price for the amount and quality of food, ok cocktails, nice ambience, service slow and unfriendly. Again? Yes, hopefully they just had a bad night.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

The dishes are big. The food is a bit pricey. Great atmosphere. Loved it overall.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Massai-Berlin also viewed

Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Massai-Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Massai-Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.