We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice modest hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alter Kranen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alter Kranen to your Saves list
Hotel Alter Kranen
Karrnergasse 11, 97070 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Wurzburg
Kranj, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice modest hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Not to expect too much, however good quality of sleep, clean rooms and bathroom, plenty variety at breakfast buffet.
Parking is organised in nearby garages which is sufficient. Location is great. City itself is small nd managable in one day. Enjoy drinking a glass of vine on main bridge in the evening!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    48
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
46
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights at the beginning of our trip through Bavaria. It was in a very good location to explore the city of Wurzburg. We were able to walk to all the destinations we wanted to see. If your room is on the river side of the hotel (we were not) you will also have an excellent view. The bathroom was spotless and the rest of the room was very well kept also. We had good wireless internet and the breakfast provided was nice as well. It included breads, jams, juice, coffee or tea, cereal, some fruit, yoghurt, several types of cheese and meat. More than enough to start the day. We found the rates to be very fair for the room and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river side of the hotel will be quieter in the evening as well as have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Delightful room with view of river and at a very good price. Central, clean and comfortable with good breakfast. Shower had a novel touch – LED lights in shower head which changed colour when in pulse mode!

Room Tip: ask for room with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Stayed here for a Sunday night before moving forward to other destinations.

The hotel is in walking distance to the Wurzburg Hauptbahnhof, it takes around 10-15 minutes walking with luggage. The reception lady is nice and helpful by noting us the maintenance happening in the hotel, which didn't bother our us at all. She has also recommended us a restaurant for dinner and reminded us to go to the Fortress Marienberg that day as the museums up in the hills close on Mondays.

The double room we got is spacious and clean, with refurbished bathroom and a flatscreen TV. The room has an excellent view to the Old Bridge, the river and Fortress Marienberg. Though we hear cars passing downstairs but it is fine to us. Shower is strong and the squeezing shower gel attached on the wall is a convenient and nice little touch in the bathroom. There is free Wifi in this hotel, the signal is satisfactory but we do need to find "the best reception spot". The continental breakfast is also very nice.

The hotel is located by the riverside so if you have enough time, you can stroll along the river and to the Old Bridge and walk slowly to the Fortress Marienberg. It takes around 40 minutes walking slowly from the hotel to the hilltop. The hotel is also a few minutes away from the Marktplatz and in walkable distance to the Residenz.

The hotel is in high quality in general and worth recommendations.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed here one night on the way to Frankfurt to fly home. We lived in Schweinfurt in the 70's and things have really changed. This hotel is centrally located but the parking we were provided we could not use due to our car being too large. This car was a Renault!. We had to park across the street in a parking garage. My husband did not like this. The staff were friendly however the English was very limited.
This first room they gave us was on the second floor. No air conditioning! I had reserved a room with air!
I called and she said only 3rd floor rooms had air. It was 85 degrees F out and I can not sleep in a hot room. She did finally give us a room on the 3rd floor. This hotel is clean, but bare necessities. It was well located to be able to walk everywhere. The breakfast was typical European buffet fare. Nothing fancy. We were there on a Tuesday. Tourist be ware, the wineries and castle are not open on certain days and were not open when we were there. If ever returning I probably not stay here. It is nothing more than a 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: If you want A/C specify and ensure you are on the 3rd floor. There is an elavator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights in May 2012. Hotel is within walking distance to most attractions except Fortress Marienberg. Hotel is within walking distance to train station, recommended to take a taxi (approx 7 euros) if carrying luggages. Room was spacious and clean. Breakfast was adequate. Staff were friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornsea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

This is a nice Hotel. It is clean and the staff are friendly. The food is very nice and well presented.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alter Kranen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alter Kranen

Address: Karrnergasse 11, 97070 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Wurzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Alter Kranen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alter Kranen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.