We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great attributes but too noisy for a good nights sleep” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Residence to your Saves list
Hotel Residence
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Juliuspromenade 1, 97070 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 48 Hotels in Wurzburg
Plano, TX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Great attributes but too noisy for a good nights sleep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

I agree with the positive comments as to location, great breakfast buffet, large rooms, etc. The facility has one flaw that could be easily satisfied if the night desk clerk took action. Half the rooms face the plaza and the hotel has no A/C. Consequently, even in late September, one must sleep with the windows open. Unfortunately there is a cafe next door, possibly related to the hotel, with outdoor seating. Groups of youths were out there talking, laughing, etc. until 3:30. Thought it perhaps was me trying to deal with jet lag but when I inquired of the couple next door on our 4th floor, same challenge.

Good value but if the time of year requires outdoor ventilation, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
21
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We turned up at this hotel without a booking and stayed for one night. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was a little dated but good - very big and plenty of space. We had a corner bath which was great for bathing out toddler. There is very limited parking nearby, but we were lucky to bag one of the two 'pay and display' spaces immediately opposite the hotel. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. Noise was an issue - people congregate below the windows until the early hours. But it did not detract greatly from an enjoyable stay

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

This is a clean, friendly value option. Location is terrific, breakfast had many options, room was small but functional, front desk was efficient and helpful. Beds were a little soft for our taste (compared to the normally firm german beds which we like) but otherwise great, adequate lighting, temperatures great. Shower was a detraction - small but made worse by wet fabric curtain. Don't bend over unless you like clammy, wet.

Unfortunately, a few other problems not under hotel control, probably. First, smokers and bar patrons hang out virtually all night outside the hotel. You'd never guess it looking at it during the day or from pictures. Think NY is the city that never sleeps? Check out Wurzburg. I clocked revelers at about 4:00 am ON A WEEKNIGHT. This is in February with the windows closed, very loud and awakened numerous times despite considerable jet lag. Won't do this again.

Secondly, non smoking room still had considerable smoke infiltration. Not sure if this is because folks were smoking on non-smoking floor or because other floors were smoking. Made worse because it was at night, waking us up (when we weren't already up due to noise) by smoke.

Sad, because otherwise, this hotel would be an budget option.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

Wurzburg is beautiful not to be missed.......always plenty to do and see.
The hotel was comfortable and staff were freindly...breakfast was help yourself , fresh and filling.
On the last evening I was ill in bed and staff knowing this, brought hot lemon tea and extra duvets to our room.
I would go back as it felt homely during our 8 day stay.
Centrally located in the town it is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

Recently stayed here for a conference as the hotel is very close to the congress centre. I had a single room which was very roomy and clean. The bathroom was small but adequate and the staff were very friendly. The sights of Wurzburg are an easy walk, as is the train station. Plenty of places to eat in the street as well.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2007

The hotel is quite close to the Alter Kranen, also the Rathaus and the rest of the towncenter is conveniently reachable by foot.
The rooms aren't very big, but quite clean, the bathroom has only the bathtub which isn't very confortable if you just have to take a shower.
The breakfast is quite nice, nothing special but has anything you might want to eat in the morning.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — small room
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence

Address: Juliuspromenade 1, 97070 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 48 Hotels in Wurzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.