We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality room, and a unique breakfast vault!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gruener Baum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Gruener Baum to your Saves list
Hotel Gruener Baum
Zeller Strasse 35/37, 97082 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Wurzburg
Redditch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
305 helpful votes 305 helpful votes
“Quality room, and a unique breakfast vault!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

Arriving at the hotel by car is a bit fraught, since the entrance is on a fairly busy road and we drove past it twice looking for somewhere to stop before I vaguely remembered where their website tells people to pull into (despite the no parking signs) in order to check in. I suggest that drivers familiarize themselves with this arrangement, by looking at the map on their website, before driving here.

Once we’d paused the car in the small space opposite, I ran across the road to the hotel and checked in with the delightfully helpful receptionist who subsequently directed us around the corner into their private garage space that we had booked.

We had room 12 on the first floor (one floor up), which was smallish but very nicely decorated and well maintained. The furniture was pine, with a wardrobe, two wooden chairs, desk, etc. The television had many channels, including a couple in English such as Sky News. The double bed had two separate mattresses pushed together, and was very comfortable. Electrically operated shutters on the windows kept the light out very well.

The bathroom was beautifully appointed – modern and spotlessly clean, with a very large shower.

Breakfast was a pleasant continental buffet spread presented in a most interesting ‘vault’ setting underneath the hotel. It made for a memorable start to the day.

We only stayed at the hotel for one night, but were really impressed with the quality of the room (especially the bathroom) and the uniqueness of their breakfast room. One other thing to mention were the two receptionists we met (one checking in; one checking out) who were both delightfully charming and helpful, and a credit to the hotel.

We’d recommend this hotel for anybody visiting Wurzburg. It is located only a few minutes walk to the city centre, over the nearby bridge spanning the river. If arriving by car, just do some planning in advance so you know where to pause whilst checking in - and I suggest you reserve a car parking space at 8 Euros a night in their secure garage.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    70
    21
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
74
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

Stayed here in Wurzburg for my friend's birthday weekend and overall, had a good experience.

Things we really liked:
-location: right near the old bridge, close to the fortress, easy to get to
-staff: the bilingual staff was very friendly and helpful, offering free maps, advice about restaurants and attractions and they let us store our luggage after we checked out
-breakfast buffet: lots of selection (breads, cheeses, meats, musli, fruit, hard-boiled eggs, etc.) and the selection wasn't worse if you came later during the breakfast time
-room cleanliness: room especially the shower was super clean
-bathroom: the shower was very nice!
-TV: super big TV with lots of selection but we were too busy touring to use it

Things we weren't thrilled about:
-noise: bring earplugs and you'll sleep fine. The walls are thin so you can hear people walking in the hallway. Also, our room was right on the street so if you're not used to the sound of cars(not a steady stream but there), ask for a room facing away from the street.
-thin curtains: our window was at the same height as the street lamp across the street so our room was constantly light. There are decorative lacy curtains but nothing that darkens the room. This was probably the most disappointing thing. Curtains would be such an easy thing to fix.

Other than that, I'd stay there again as it was very nice and convenient for a short tour around the city. I'd just know to ask for a different room.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

We stayed for 1 night on our way back from Italy. We had a huge room and my daughter was very impressed that she had a proper bed of her own - rather than a pull out sofa, or mattress on the floor. Chocolates on the pillow was a nice touch. Very large flat screen TV on the wall - shame we can't speak German. Staff recommended a restaurant by the river and it was lovely. Despite being on the main road it was quite quiet and we slept well - maybe being a Sunday helped.
Buffet breakfast but plenty of choice and very tasty.
Secure parking available just across the road at 8 Euros.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

This hotel is situated optimally below the beautiful castle Marienburg and close to city center, 5 minutes by foot. And staff is very friendly.
Our double room cost 95 euros inc. breakfast and there was 3 euros extra for a parking spot in front of the hotel. The also had a garage which was 7 euros. The downside was that the room had no air-conditioning. There was a floor fan available but it was so noisy I had trouble sleeping.
Breakfast was nothing special, standard continental.
Wireless internet was free.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

We stayed for one night in this hotel. The welcome by reception was excellent, and they really did a lot to make sure we were happy on arrival. Secure parking is available, which was important to me, and this requires a short drive around the corner, and the price is about 8 Euros. Not too inconvenient.

The room we had was ok. Quite small, and very ordinarily decorated. nothing too special. However it was very clean, and my wife liked the chocolates on the pillow.

Unfortunately, the room was very warm, so we had to open the window for the night. It is only a small road the hotel is on, but there is an extra-ordinary amount of noise through the night. I have never known anything like it. Constant traffic from cars apparently using it like a race track, and people just walking by talking on the top of their voices. We were woken at 1am, 2am, and 3am, by people shouting in the street, Two Germans chose to stand outside the hotel at 6am and have a full volume conversation for 20 mins, until we got up and told them to bugger off. So we really had a bad nights sleep, and felt so tired the next morning. However when we closed the window, it was just so hot, it was unbearable.

The breakfast was very nice, and the waitress was very helpful and friendly.

Overall, it is hard to say this is a bad hotel, as the staff try so hard to make your stay pleasant, however the simple addition of better ventialtion or air conditioning would remove one major drawback.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Windsheim, Germany
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

The hotel Grüner Baum is located close to the city center of Würzburg. Bars and restaurants are in short walking distance. For those of you who like castles, the hotel is very close to the 'Marienfeste', an old and very large stronghold. If you come closer to the castle, you surely doubt that anyone could have won in a siege against this battlements.

We have been to Würzburg for an event in the restaurant of the 'Marienfeste'. As this hotel is very close, we needed 15 minutes by foot to climb up the hill towards the fortress. During winter-times there are no guided tours, but starting at the end of March again.

We have been in teh hotel for one day and we did not test the restaurant. We did however have one of the best buffet-breakfasts money can buy. For the price of 85€ for the room and 10€ for the breakfast for two persons, price-performance ratio can not be bet.

Parking in the rear of the hotel costs 3€ but it can happen that other people park behind you so that you can not leave immedeately. I recommend the closed garage which costs 8€ per day. You can also find other parking possibilities for free but only during evening and night times.

The rooms are small but comfortable. The bathroom is small as well but ours was newly renovated. From the outside the hotel looks old but in my opinion it is a hidden gem. You will not find another hotel in this area this cheap but still not shabby nor scary. The interior of the hotel is well maintained and old chairs or other things in the floors add to the kind of medievil charm of the hotel.

Each room has a minibar with surprisingly cheap prices (Beer 2€, chocolate bar 0,70€) and a small TV with many stations. The room itself apart from the bathroom is not new but not old or dirty.

The personnel is friendly and even accompanies you by foot to the garage so that you find the right way. You can get a complimentary map of Würzburg if you need one, all in all a very friendly atmosphere.

The breakfast buffet was large with much choices of bread, rolls and fruit. They have large cheese and sausage plates as well as cereals and yoghurt. You can have milk and juices, coffee and tea. Did I tell you that the breakfast takes place in an old vault?

So as I said, I can recommend the hotel to everyone who comes to Würzburg for a short trip, maybe over the weekend.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Lanham
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

We spent two nights in this hotel and I wish we had of stayed longer. The staff was helpful, friendly and spoke good English. They made our family (with young children) feel welcome and not a burden. The room was comfortable, clean, and recently decorated to a high standard and excellent taste. The hotel overall was also decorated to a high standard with consideration to the buildings history and culture, yet very modern and comfortable. The hotel is on a main street and there was some noise, but this was not a problem overall. Breakfast was more than expected - a great variety of fruit, meats, cheese, yogurt, cereals, and the best baked bread/croissants I have had in ages. Overall, this is a great place to stay and very good value for money. We will stay here again without a question.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gruener Baum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gruener Baum

Address: Zeller Strasse 35/37, 97082 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Wurzburg
#2 Family Hotel in Wurzburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wurzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Gruener Baum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gruener Baum Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gruener Baum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.