We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Buffet Breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Zur Stadt Mainz

Zur Stadt Mainz
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Zur Stadt Mainz to your Saves list
Zur Stadt Mainz
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Semmelstrasse 39, 97070 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 48 Hotels in Wurzburg
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Buffet Breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

Family run small nice hotel. Room is clean. Don't expect any service. (We have to move our luggage to 2nd floor ourselves. No elevator.) But the buffet breakfast is very good with lots of local specialties.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    16
    9
    0
See reviews for
8
18
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

It is advertised as an old local hotel, but in the end it is very basic. The room, which needed to be refurbished had two separated small beds and a shower with little pressure. The breakfast on the bright side was quite overwhelming, at least if one likes raw fish, peppers, artichoke hearts and french cheese in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2007

I made reservations for two nights based on the historical fact that it dates from 1430. It was just a plain ordinary building, although the restaurant below did have charm to it with good food and was non-smoking. When we checked in we informed them that only wanted just one night as we wanted to go to Frankfurt in preparation for a flight out the morning after. No problem was the response. When we went to check out the person on duty was bent out of shape. The historical area is just around the corner and worth visiting. We paid Euro 110 and at that price we feel it was a fair price. Our room was Room #3, one flight up the stairs and faced the street. It was a Friday night and tended to get noisey outside. Then what else is new with these narrow streets. If you can't deal with it then stay at a more modern hotel and pay more.

  • Liked — Close to Historic part of town
  • Disliked — Did not really have the charm of a 1430 inn.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehouse Station, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2006

Our family has just returned from a wonderful 10 day vacation in Bavaria. My husband, both sets of grandparents and I traveled to visit our daughter who is studying in Würzburg for the year. We stayed at three hotels during our trip and enjoyed our initial three night stay here so much, we decided to change our original plans and spend one more night at the end of our trip.

After reading the earlier postings, I have to admit to being anxious regarding our accommodations. However since our visit coincided with Oktoberfest, we decided to keep our reservations and were very glad we did! We had the opportunity to stay in five different rooms during our two stays.

The hotel does not have an elevator, so anyone with difficulty with stairs should request a room on the first floor (which will require climbing one flight of stairs). Knowing that many hotels do not have elevators, my request for a room with the least amount of stairs for my parents was honored both times. While the rooms did vary in size and the rooms towards the front of hotel were a bit noisy, we did not experience any difficulties with the showers or towels as previous posters mentioned. Our showers were glass enclosed and we had sufficient towels during our stays. I would suggest requesting a room in the back to allow enjoyment of the fresh breeze from open windows while reducing the possibility of street noise.

The breakfasts were a hit with everyone, including my daughter who joined us for two. A diverse selection included meats, cheeses, fish, eggs, breads, homemade jams, yogurt, fresh fruit, and delicious cakes. Beverage selections included juices, coffee, and tea. The breakfasts were plentiful and everyone started out well nourished for a day of sightseeing.

The hotel is centrally located permitting enjoyable walks to the numerous cafes, markets, and shops.

I must comment on the wonderful staff and owners of the hotel, who graciously went out of their way to insure we had a wonderful visit (giving directions/advice on the area, helping us park our van, to flexibility with our stays). When the weather was dreary and walking too much for our parents, the staff made sure they were comfortable while resting in their rooms. I look forward to staying here again on our next visit!

  • Liked — The wonderful staff and owners
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2006

In a three week period, we stayed in 12 different hotels in 12 different towns in Germany priced from 90 euros per night to 260 euros per night. At 140 euros per night, I thought this was the most overpriced hotel of our trip. I just didn’t get a good feeling from the hotel. Our room was very plain & worn but clean. The shower holder was broken & appears to have been for some time. The ground floor area is dark & not very welcoming. Reception is in the restaurant. There is no elevator & carrying our luggage up several flights of stairs was not pleasant. (A housekeeper was offered to carry the bags, but she was much smaller than I.) Our room fronted on the street below, it was too hot to close the windows, & there was noise all night long. We resorted to earplugs at 3:30am but even they were not enough for the motor scooters at 5:30am. I agree with another reviewer about the breakfast - a disappointment unless you like cold fish. I selected it based on a review in Fodors. I don't get it. Maybe my dislike was unusual. There were newspaper articles posted everywhere & the two I could read (NY Times & a London paper) both had nice things to say. I assume the German reviews were positive also. The ladies who run the place seem nice. I just have to believe there are much better choices in Wurzburg.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2006

I was in Wurzburg for work, and the write up for Zur Stadt Mainz in Frommer's caught my eye. I wanted a cozy place to come back to at night, and a filling breakfast in the morning before I headed out for a long day of work. Who wouldn't want to check out the best breakfast in town? It was not cozy, it was dark and empty. The room furnishings were plain - definitely not old-fashioned Franconian. The bathroom curtains were made out of a terrycloth towel-like material that had me tempted when I found only 1 barely-decent-size towel in the bathroom.

The breakfast... a typical European breakfast, but certainly not close to the best I've seen, in Wurzburg or anywhere; generous only if you REALLY like varieties of pickled and smoked fish. A work friend raved about the breakfast at her hotel, and when I checked it out, I was bummed at what I had been missing out on all week. Lunch in the restaurant was overpriced, and definitely not what I would call excellent cuisine. Mostly just disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zur Stadt Mainz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zur Stadt Mainz

Address: Semmelstrasse 39, 97070 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 48 Hotels in Wurzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Zur Stadt Mainz 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Zur Stadt Mainz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zur Stadt Mainz würzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zur Stadt Mainz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.