We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fair choice in many aspects” 3 of 5 stars
Review of City Partner Hotel Strauss

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added City Partner Hotel Strauss to your Saves list
City Partner Hotel Strauss
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Juliuspromenade 5, 97070 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 48 Hotels in Wurzburg
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“A fair choice in many aspects”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

City Partner Hotel Strauss is a mid-sized (75 rooms) hotel of fair value in a fair location. An all-rounder with nothing neither extraordinarily good nor glaringly bad, it feels more standardized than most independent hotels.

This hotel is located in northern Altstadt (old city), close to Juliusspital and Marktplatz. Practically all the tourist sights are within walking distance, and Würzburg Hauptbahnhof (main train station) is about 10 minutes of walk away. While the immediate neighborhood doesn’t look too romantic, there are numerous restaurants, bars, marts, and shops along Juliuspromenade that passes in front of the hotel. There are hotels even more central and closer to all the actions, but this location should be sufficiently convenient to any able traveler.

The room is fairly spacious, clean, and equipped with wall-hung LCD TV, phone, minibar, and power outlets above desk. Bathroom is functional and also acceptably clean, though in our case one of the shower booth doors was half-broken, so that if not careful water could leak onto the floor.

Overall, City Partner Hotel Strauss is neither impressive nor disappointing. It does its job, and considering the rate (competitive without breakfast), we would give 3.5 if we could. While not on par with those “very good” lodgings we have given 4 points on TripAdvisor, this hotel is better than those we would consider as true “average” (3 points). It is worth checking and comparing with other candidates.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    44
    37
    7
    3
See reviews for
21
37
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

No problems recommending this hotel. A reasonable cost for what it is and where it is.
Very central and only a ten minute walk from the main rail station. The river is a five minute walk away and so to the bridge.
Being a student town it is lively and the evenings on the bridge are often filled with young people enjoying a wine and listening to busking musicians. A real delight!
The breakfast and restaurant costs we found to expensive so we ate elsewhere.
Room and service was faultless.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The Hotel Strauss was a very friendly and clean hotel. Our room was small but adaquate. The shower was extremely small. Breakfast, although not included in the price, was delicious. There is a parking garage right across the street from the hotel which was great. There is a small (free) parking lot in front of the hotel, however it was full by the time we arrived. The weather was cool when we were there, however we did leave the window open a bit. Our room faced the street and it was noisy on a Friday evening, but it didn't keep us awake. If we ever went back to Wurburg, we would stay at Hotel Strauss again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This hotel is fairly centrally located in Wurzburg. The walk to see the old fort only took around 25 mins. The staff was friendly and parking in front was free, albeit extremely difficult. The rooms aren't anything special and the breakfast is not worth the price. Worth staying if only in town for a night or two.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the 'garage' will be much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The hotel was within a 15 minute walk from the train station in Wurzburg, and there was a streetcar that stopped right outside the front doors (although we never took it, Wurzburg is a very small town).

I stayed here for a conference, and I would probably stay here again, since the price was so much lower than most other hotels in the area.

The good things about this hotel:
- staff were really nice and most spoke some English
- the breakfast was really good, buffet style with eggs, cheese, bread, meat, yogurt, cereal and fruit. It was 9 euro, which sounds like a lot, except that most restaurants weren't open at 8am (when we needed to eat to get to the conference)
- the room was spacious, and the beds were really comfortable (soft)
- everything was clean and really well kept
- it was in a central location, with lots of restaurants on the same street (although many of them stop serving food at around 10pm, there is a mexican restaurant a couple doors down from the hotel that serves food late into the night)

Things you should know before booking:
- there is no air conditioning in the rooms, and if you leave your window open at night you will hear traffic or the people on the street below (it's a university town - the kids never sleep!). Bring ear plugs.
- the bathroom in rm 112 was not enclosed, so water went everywhere during a shower
- the water was warm, but not hot
- there were some amenities (shampoo and conditioner in packets only), so if you are picky bring your own!
- the internet was REALLY expensive (no free wifi), and the login page didn't load properly a lot of the time (a much cheaper alternative is to purchase a German sim card with data - 10euro for 1G data over 7 days)

Room Tip: 112 overlooked the main street, so it was really loud at night with the windows open. Also the show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Albert, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed as a group of bantam hockey players and their parents. Staff were exceptionally pleasant. My wife and I had to spend the night in separate rooms and mine was above and close to a street pub on a Saturday night. Although I didn't sleep well because of the open window in a room lacking air conditioning, it was entertaining.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Partner Hotel Strauss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Partner Hotel Strauss

Address: Juliuspromenade 5, 97070 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 48 Hotels in Wurzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Partner Hotel Strauss 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your City Partner Hotel Strauss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strauss Hotel würzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Partner Hotel Strauss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.