We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Wuerzburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Wuerzburg to your Saves list
Novotel Wuerzburg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eichstrasse 2, 97070 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Wurzburg
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2008

Booked direct with ACOR website and got a great deal, best price for our whole Europe and UK holiday.
Chosen because within walking distance of train station and city centre and the Residence. In a quite residential area of town so no restaurants close by but only 10 minutes walk or so to city restaurants. Rooms are fairly small but very well appointed with modern fittings.
We did not have breakfast as rather expensive compared to the room cost and as we were catching the train we just had coffee and coissant at the station.
Wurzburg is very central with one hour train journey to both Rothenburg ( fabulous) and Bamberg ( not bad)

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Small rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    282
    117
    20
    6
See reviews for
176
197
60
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gent
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2008

We paied 100 euro for a room and 15 euro/person for breakfast. Room was great, bathroom even better. 5 min walk from the city center, so location is excellent. Neigbourhood is quiet.
Didn't had time to take a swim or try the sauna: to much to do and see in Wurzburg en environment...
Breakfast was superb, but it had to be for 15 euro/person: everything you can imagin... even a glass of sekt was included - although drinking at 9 am is even for Belgians too early.
Excellent city, excellent hotel. What a start!

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, MN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2008

Very nice hotel - seemed recently remodeled. Very comfortable beds. Nicely sized rooms

Only a couple of blocks from the train station. I didn't try the hotel restaurant - there are quite a few other restaurants in the area. It's not exactly in the middle of everything - hence, it's nice and quiet - but being close to the train station, it's easy to walk there and take the train abywhere - why bother with a car?

  • Liked — Location, beds, price
  • Disliked — Internet access
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2007

I stayed at this novotel with my girlfriend in May for a weekend stay. I believe it is a very nice place. The breakfast is excellent and the pool is really nice. The hotel is a few minutes walk away from the city center. Rooms are modern and well equiped. This hotel is not particularly romantic and a bit business like, but myt GF actually likes this because it is clean, neat and well organised (she is Japanese). All in all, I would recommend this place, just like many other novotels...

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2007

We stayed at the Novotel Wurzburg for two nights in November 2006. The hotel is in an excellent location, however if arriving by train I would suggest getting a taxi, as walking with cases can be awkward on the Wurzburg footpaths. It is only a few hundred metres from the main train station and town centre so the location could not be better, we arrived in the afternoon and were able to check in and still have time for a wander through the town before dinner.

This is where the problem lay for us with Novotel Wurzburg. I admit we got to dinner late (around 830 pm) however the sole staff member on duty was distant at best, showed very little interest in helping us, and a lot of interest in serving large amounts of wine to a single male guest at another table. The food was also fairly average, the steak I ordered was over cooked and very salty.

The room was great though, plenty of space and one of the biggest beds I have ever encountered in a standard room. The breakfast was good, although the hot food selection was minimal and the service a little slow in re-stocking empty items.

I would recommend the hotel, but recommend eating out.

The pool facilities were excellent.

  • Liked — Bed size, room size, clean
  • Disliked — Restaurant service.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2007

I stayed on business and can thoroughly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure. The rooms were clean and tidy, the staff were friendly and the food was fabulous.

It's close to the main railway station and to the sights of Wurzburg so location is good.

Price is great so will suit most company budgets and for a nice private break as well.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, France
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2006

Although this is a business oriented hotel, you'll find it pleasant if you have to stay in Wurtzburg for pleasure. Very modern decor, both in the public areas and in the room, everything you'll need to make your stay comfortable (including Tea and Coffee facilities, which is not common in Germany). Small but clean pool area. A good 15 minutes walk to the city center. You'll be lucky to find a parking spot in the adjoining streets.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Wuerzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Wuerzburg

Address: Eichstrasse 2, 97070 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wurzburg
#2 Family Hotel in Wurzburg
#4 Business Hotel in Wurzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Wuerzburg 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Wurzburg is located in the heart of this Baroque city. In the centre of the picturesque Old Town, between the cathedral and the Wurzburg Residenz, this 4 star hotel welcomes business travellers and holidaymakers from around the world with 167 elegant, lovingly refurbished rooms and eight multifunction conference rooms. In our restaurants our chefs will spoil you with international and regional cuisine. Unwind in our Relax Spa with swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Novotel Wuerzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Wuerzburg Hotel
Novotel Hotel würzburg
Novotel Hotel Wuerzburg
Novotel Wurzburg
würzburg Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Wuerzburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.