We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thieves at the cellar” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Residenz

The Residenz
Residenzplatz 2, 97070 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
+49(0)931/355170
Website
Improve this listing
Visit The Residenz like an insider
Top Rated
$1,254*
and up
Romantic Germany: 7-Day Tour from Frankfurt to...
Ranked #1 of 72 things to do in Wurzburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Wine tasting
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This palace served as the home for Würzburg's powerful prince-bishops during the Enlightenment and is known for its extravagant artistic design and Baroque architecture.
Nice, France
1 review
“Thieves at the cellar”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I had a very bad experience. The cellar at the Residenz was opened ONLY for my group of collegues and me (all researchers attending a conference at the University of Würzburg). I forgot my camera at the cellar and when I asked for it, they told me that there was nothing there. Did one of my collegues steal the camera or the woman who was in charge of cleaning the cellar did "a very good job"? It is a pity that this kind of things happens and I am very disappointed about the treatment received from people at Residenz.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    513
    196
    33
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“An interesting visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The Residenz is a very nice place to visit. The interior is very historical and very beautiful. The garden is also a very nice place to walk. The bag thing is that visitors are disallowed to take photos.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Must see in Wurzburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The guided tour is relatively brief but very informative, so would be a shame to miss even if your time is limited. Be sure to note the ceiling work where sculpture blends with painted ceilings. Difficult to tell what is really three dimensional and what is painting with perspective. Bone up on your Holy Roman Empire history a bit before you go!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A huge palace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Called The Residenz, it was the home of the wealthy archbishops of the area in the 18th century. It was built in a Rococo (late Baroque) style in the early years of the 18th century. To see its rooms, you need to take a guided tour (no photos allowed). I went on one with an experienced English-speaking guide who obviously loved the building; there were only a couple of others in the group, so it really felt like a private tour. Most impressive is the grand double staircase (largest in the world) and the massive painted ceiling fresco over it. Interesting was the court area on the ground floor where a full set of horses and carriage could come right inside! Don't miss the formally laid out gardens behind the building (many people neglect to go there). There is an astonishing array of flowers arranged (it seems) according to colour.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag, Niederlande
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Worth to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

If you would like to visit the former seat of the archbishops, you shouldn't miss this one. Optional guided tour, price included into the price of the ticket. For the most beautiful rooms you have to go for a tour.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Residenz also viewed

Wurzburg, Lower Franconia
Wurzburg, Lower Franconia
 
Wurzburg, Lower Franconia
Wurzburg, Lower Franconia
 

Been to The Residenz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Residenz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.