We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonne

Sonne
Hafengasse 11, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
09861-95150
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 99 Restaurants in Rothenburg
Restaurant details
Maroochydore, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We are a mature couple and were looking for a nice restaurant for an evening meal. We were greeted at the door and he handed us an English menu, that was the first plus.How did he know? We asked him later and he had listened to us speaking, very sharp. The meal was served quickly, absolutely delightful, his choice of wine from the area was excellent.The staff were very friendly and the restaurant has a lovely new decor, very quiet and relaxing. Perfect dining in Rothenburg

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vanløse, Staden Kobenhavn, Denmark
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A very bad birthday dinner!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Pasta, which sticked to the roof of the mouth, rubber potatoes, Schweinebraten wrapped in unbacked dough. A very very bad and tasteless experience. Find an other place to eat!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Great Service and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We arrived in Rothenburg later in the day in freezing late March. We were wandering the streets in the freezing cold and the town was so quiet - probably a combination of the below 0 temperatures and it being off season. A lot of the restaurants closed early because of the lack of people. We weren't sure of what we wanted to eat so we were wandering the streets reading menus trying to decide. The one thing we knew is that we didn't want any more Schnitzel and Fries. We were schnitzeled out! When we wandered by the restaurant in Hotel Gasthof Sonne, the waiter came outside and helped us translate the menu. He was very nice, and not pushy in any way. In fact, we kept wandering afterwards for another 10 minutes and when we couldn't decide, figured we would go back here because he was nice enough to great us outside in the cold.

We were the only ones in the restaurant, and they were so happy to have someone to serve and cook for. The waiter we so helpful and kind, while still giving us space to enjoy our meal in peace. My husband had lamb ravioli (which he loved) and I had a omelet au gratin, which was amazing (and too big for me to finish!) It was such a relaxing and delicious evening, we would totally return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Restaurant review - Undercooked chicken”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Had a salad for lunch with grilled chicken. The portion was quite small considering it was Euro 13,80. The chicken was partially raw and inedible. I didn't try anything else, but would not recommend this place. The waiter took the food back and agreed that we should not pay, which was positive.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ma
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We really liked this place. The food was delicious - it felt very authentic - unusual meals (for us, anyway) that were a treat after all the usual wienerschnitzel and bratwurst.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonne also viewed

Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
 
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
 

Been to Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.