We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful Owner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Goldenes Lamm

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Goldenes Lamm to your Saves list
Hotel Goldenes Lamm
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Markt 2, 91541 Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Helpful Owner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

Great location. Rooms clean and neat, basic. Hotel manager/owner was very helpful and knowledgeable. Enjoyed our conversations with him. Free internet in the bar and dining areas.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    16
    7
    5
    7
See reviews for
10
22
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

Position, position, position!! We were blown away by the hotel's position in this beautiful medieval gem of a town!
What a treasure this town is - a must see for all. The building is 500 years old and is the only hotel in this main square (Marktplatz)
Even though the room was very small ,and bathroom like a modular unit you may see in a caravan, it was comfortable and had great character. Only plastic cups - no glasses.
No lift, fridge or tissues.
Breakfast room was charming with a wonderful outlook onto square, but breakfast itself was terrible - very stingey and poor quality. Go out for breakfast !!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

We spent a Saturday in Rothenburg; stayed at the Goldenes Lamm Hotel overnight. First the good parts: the location could not have been better, right on the main Town Square. The price was good at 75 Euro per night. The staff was very friendly and the food in the restaurant was good. The rolls and bread at breakfast were excellent. Parking was available directly behind the hotel and if you're lucky enough, you can get one of the free parking spots along the back wall of the hotel. On the not so great side: The room was tiny at best; smaller than a interior room on a cruise ship. The bathroom and shower barely allowed room to close the door. There was no air conditioning and no screens on the windows. Also, the TV didn't work, but I don't think we missed much as all that is usually available in English is CNN and BBC. The town was fantastic and the Night Watchman's Tour is a must. He is entertaining and very informative. The buildings in town and the scenery surrounding the town are incredible. I recommend an early morning walk on the wall surrounding the town. The view is great. Rothenburg was definitely worth the trip.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

Luckily we only stayed one night in this hotel... Unlike all the other reviews i've read about this hotel i had a much different experience. When we got to the hotel they had us booked for 2 nights instead of one. The woman who checked us in made us go get our reservaton sheet from our car to prove that we indeed inly booked for one night. When we came back she was rude and seemed annoyed that we did indeed only have one night reserved. One of her family members however made up for her rudeness and attempted to make us feel more welcome. When she walked us up to our room she proceeded to pick up multiple towels that were just laying in the hallway at random spots...
The room was nice enough. My only complaint is that it is in the main square so it can be pretty loud at night. The bells that chimed woke me up every hour and drunk people were actually yelling in the streets which also made it hard to sleep.
If you are up for a party and like being in the center of town this hotel is for you. But for a pregnanct lady like myself who is super tired it was not so great!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

1. The location was GREAT. Right on the main market square. It is above a restaurant, so there is really no “front desk” etc. My room faced the back, which overlooked a small square, so it was quiet. There was a back door here, for use by hotel guests.
2. The price was very reasonable.
3. The room was clean, simple and functional. Furnishings were sort of “Alpine-ish” with wood-framed beds, etc. Nice comforters. Small unit-bathroom with shower. But the mattress was soft. That was the only minus. 1 English-language channel (CNN). No A/C, but did not need it. Very simple breakfast buffet included.
4. Had little contact with the staffers, except on check-out and check-in. The person who checked me in and showed me to my room was very friendly. Family-run operation I think. Note: I do not think they take credit cards, so you may want to check.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

My husband and two girlfriends stayed at this hotel in Sept 2008 and it was in a wonderful location! Right on the main square so it felt like you could always see what was going on. They have tables set up out in the front so you can sit there as long as you want and order food and drinks. The service was good, the staff was fun! Since we were some of the few young people vacationing inside the city walls, they took us out for drinks after they got off of their shifts and that was a great time! I absolutely love Rothenburg. It is one of the quaintest cities I have ever visited and it was my second time there. It can be a photographer's dream, as I captured many amazing photographs which I will try to post. It has wonderful gardens on one side of the cities and is a beautiful place to stroll and shop at leisure. I would recommend everyone to visit this wonderful walled city, and don't miss its sister city about 6 miles down the road called Dinkelsbuhl!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2009

The Goldenes Lamm is in my opinion the best located hotel in Rothenburg. It faces the central square and has lovely tables outside where you can eat and drink great German beer. The rooms were clean and standard. Ours was actually rather large for Europe.

While in RODT be sure to join the Knight Watchman's Tour, drink beer at the bar, Hell, see the puppet show opera and check out the Crime & Punishment and town museums. Kathy's Christmas store is also fun. Beware, the town basically shuts down at 10pm, though!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Goldenes Lamm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldenes Lamm

Address: Markt 2, 91541 Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Goldenes Lamm 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Goldenes Lamm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldenes Lamm Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Goldenes Lamm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.