We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Eisenhut

Restaurant Eisenhut
Herrngasse 3-5/7 | @ Hotel Eisenhut, 91541 Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
+49 9861 7050
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 99 Restaurants in Rothenburg
Price range: $9 - $33
Cuisines: German, International
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Birthday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We celebrated here my partner's birthday. They were so good to us: the meals like fine-art work, top cuisine, amazing athmosphere. They made for us a cake with text I requested previously. Highly recommended to everybody who wishes to have a very romantic dinner.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    27
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

After a week in Germany it was a joy to find this restaurant, so much so that we ate here twice. The food is imaginative (i.e. cod with ginger and a banana and tomato accompaniment) and there are lighter options available. More expensive than other restaurants in Rothenburg but, by Australian standards, still very reasonable. (Meal for two, two courses, beer and wine cost us about 60 euros) The service was excellent. All this in a spacious, elegant dining room. Loved it!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great service, terrible food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This restaurant has an elegant setting with very good service. Unfortunately the food did not match the expectations set up by this. I ordered braised beef cheeks with cabbage and chanterelle slice. Chanterelles (mushrooms) were the feature food but the slice was tasteless. Worse though were the beef cheeks which had so much gristle and fat, I was unable to cut through one part let alone eat it. When I showed the waiter, it was quickly removed and we were charged half price for the meal and given a free dessert. My husband ordered saddle of lamb fillet which arrived barely cooked. It had to be returned to the kitchen to be cooked to medium rare. It was then edible and quite tasty but not very tender. This restaurant was a real disappointment particularly given the rating on trip advisor. Maybe the chef was having a bad night but this is not acceptable in a restaurant of this quality and cost.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“OMG Fantastic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had the most delicious meal at the Eisenhut Hotel. Service was outstanding, the dining room was beautiful, and our only regret was not being more dressed up for dinner and cutting it a little short due to the Watchman's Tour at 8pm. The food was outstanding, and the suggested wines from the region were a delight.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schomberg, Ontario
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Feel like a king”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Unbelievable historic ambiance. Beautiful. Excellent food, wine, service... I wish there were some cheaper options on the menu, that's all. We were dressed up a bit -- and glad we did.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Eisenhut also viewed

 
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
 

Been to Restaurant Eisenhut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Eisenhut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.