We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entertaining history of Rothenburg.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Night Watchman Tour

The Night Watchman Tour
Market Square, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Activities in Rothenburg
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
Attraction details
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Entertaining history of Rothenburg.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

English tour starts at 8PM. I thing the German speaking tour starts at 9.30PM. Lasting around 45 minutes, the night watchman tour is entertaining as it is informative. Starting at the town square, the walking tour takes tourist to a few stopping points where the last remaining night watchman share interesting history of the town. The tour group can be quite large as there is no limit on the number of participants. But at each stopping point, the night watchman does make sure that everybody can hear and see him.

Bottom line the night watchman tour is highly recommended for two reasons. One, it is quite entertaining and informative. Second, beside dinner, there is nothing else to do in Rothenberg after dark.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    34
    6
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Interesting and Funny Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We enjoyed the night watchman's tour, both for the informational perspective as well as the night watchman's sense of humor. Fees are collected at the end of the tour, so if you are late, just find the tour and follow along - you can pay at the end!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great history lesson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This tour was great! One of my favorite parts of our stay. A great historical context of the city with a twist of humor. He creates a great atmosphere or what life really was like back in the medieval days!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Despite the rain we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. It gave us a bit of an insight into the workings of the village - whether they were true or not!?

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Do Not Miss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This was my third time taking the tour with George and I loved it just as much as the first time! This is a must if you are staying the night in Rothenburg. Not only is George funny and entertaining, he is a great city historian. The best 7Euro spent on my trip!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Night Watchman Tour also viewed

Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
 

Been to The Night Watchman Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Night Watchman Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.