We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful 2 days in Rothenburg, Germany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Altfrankische Weinstube

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Altfrankische Weinstube to your Saves list
Altfrankische Weinstube
Klosterhof 7, 91541 Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful 2 days in Rothenburg, Germany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

We just spent 2 wonderful days in Rothenburg, at this eclectic hotel. The staff couldn't have been nicer, or more helpful. They recommended the Night Watchman tour, which was great! On Wednesday nights at their wine bar & restaurant it is "English night" where English speaking travelers & locals get together and chat. We met some very friendly people there and traded stories!
Well worth the visit to this fun hotel!

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    39
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
28
91
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We loved this centrally located little hotel! It was super charming and devinely quaint and at the same time very quirky! Our room was spotlessly clean and nicely decorated with a large four poster bed. We didn't meet Mario but the lady who checked us in was very helpful and friendly. We had a delicious meal in the hotel restaurant with Carmen's wonderful personality adding to the incredible ambience. There was an excellent selection for breakfast - which was served by candlelight in a smaller dining room. All in all, this is the place to stay in Rothenburg!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed 2 nights. Had dinner one night (we should have eaten there both nights). Dinner was fantastic and Carmen, our waitress, was so much fun! This was the most cozy, quaint, charming hotel I've ever been to. It was like stepping back in time. Wish we could've spent more time here. Mario runs the place. He met us when we drove up to the hotel and found us a place to park less than a block away.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed at this charming hotel only one night. When we walked in, we heard many people raving about the good dinner they were being served. :) :) The owner greeted us right away and helped us carry our luggage to our very very clean and comfortable room upstairs. Even the hallways were decorated beautifully.

There was an immaculately clean, spacious new bathroom with European facilities (tub/handheld shower unit) which we were fine with. Very good water pressure and hot water!! There was a room heater which we did not have to use.

The staff was very kind and accommodating. Our candlelight breakfast was delightful. Everything was fresh and tasty, and served in a lovely way -- coffee was in individual porcelain pots, plenty of flowers on the tables, etc. Very nice!

Sadly, our rental car was making a strange noise so we weren't able to stay longer. We were happy to have stayed here and give it a good recommendation.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My wife and I were celebrating our fifth wedding anniversary and couldn't have had a more romantic place to stay. Everyone was most helpful and the place is just dreamy. My wife and I dined at the restaurant two nights while we were staying there and they were both delicious and inexpensive. The potato soup is excellent. We also attended the Wednesday evening English club and spent hours talking to Robert, Alex and several others. If you are there on a Wednesday I would highly recommend the English Club.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We did not stay here but did eat in the restaurant. This is a great introduction to an old-world German restaurant. Very cozy with clearly a very long history, the ambience is unbeatable. Service was attentive, even when it got busy and food was very good for being "pub food". Wine and beer selections were quite good as well. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We did not stay at the hotel, but we did eat at the restaurant and I'm not exaggerating when I say it was one of my favorite meals I've ever had. The atmosphere in the restaurant is absolutely fabulous. It felt like you were transported back 400 years in time (with access to 3G). The pilsner beer that they have on tap is incredibly tasty and drinkable. Both my wife and I started with the potato soup, and it was delicious, topped with crispy croutons. I had the pork chop with sauerkraut for the main course while my wife had the pork medallions and both were absolutely perfectly cooked and delicious. The service is very friendly and prompt and the restaurant is extremely reasonably priced; I think we paid about €45 for the apps, main courses, and 5 total beverages. I will be returning to this restaurant again as soon as I get the chance!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Altfrankische Weinstube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altfrankische Weinstube

Address: Klosterhof 7, 91541 Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Rothenburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Altfrankische Weinstube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altfrankische Weinstube Hotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altfrankische Weinstube, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.