We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay in Rothenburg ob der Tauber.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Altfrankische Weinstube

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Altfrankische Weinstube to your Saves list
Altfrankische Weinstube
Klosterhof 7, 91541 Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ozark, Missouri
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A good place to stay in Rothenburg ob der Tauber.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We have stayed in Rothenburg ob der Tauber several times over the years. This was our first time to stay in this hotel. We stayed only two nights. It is very conveniently located to walk around Rothenburg. The building is supposed to be over 600 years old, but the bathroom in our room had all the modern conveniences. Mario & Carmen were helpful but busy because we arrived on Mother's Day which was the last day of a long weekend. The breakfasts were delicious with good quantity and quality of food.

Room Tip: We chose Room 2 when we booked on the hotel website and were very satisfied with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    44
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
30
101
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We were offered Apt 3 in a separate nearby building- Gästehaus am Klosterhof, I think because all the regular rooms were taken. 78 Euros per night- no room service, but breakfast included.
Up small winding stairs, old key and lock were difficult.
Apartment with lots of windows, table and chairs, small equipped kitchen, large bed (king?). Modern very clean private toilet room and separate private room with shower & sink- probably not comfortable for a very large person. Nicely decorated. Heat registers were easy to regulate. WiFi worked well after we got help with the password. Hanne and others were friendly and helpful. Convenient location within the walled town. Fairly quiet. Very private. We were able to park on the street right there for free, but during a busier season, parking would not have been as convenient.

Breakfast was in the main dining area of the hotel 8am-10. A wonderful buffet of breads, cold cuts, cheese, jams, yogurts, granola and cereals, coffee, fruit, juices, etc.

Room Tip: The Gastehaus apartment was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We were here in June, 2011 (late review - just catching up). We stayed in the guesthouse annex, just over at the corner, maybe 100 meters away. We thought we had a room reserved, but we were wrong. It was not a room... it was the entire upstairs floor! We went in, wound up two narrow flights of stairs, through another door and up again into a 650 year old, hand-hewn, open beamed ceiling cute apartment. Fresh flowers on the table, a large room, and charm to die for. And, it was a great price.
No WiFi in the room, but no big deal, we just sat in the cafe and drank!
The bathroom was good and clean, the decor charming, the little table and chairs at the top of the stairs a perfect place to sit and sip wine. The location is good for walking, but if you are taking the train and walking, be advised, it is about a KM into Rothenburg, and then you walk into the center of town... so use carry on luggage.
Good food at the cafe, friendly hosts, charming town.
As a side note, Rothenburg is wonderful at 4am, if you like to get up early and wander about.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port-au-Prince, Haiti
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Arrived at midnight to a charming hotel with a welcoming atmosphere. The hosts were very kind and prepared a wonderful dinner for us at midnight. The breakfast/dining room was lit with candles, and we were placed at tables with other guests. The guest house across the street was wonderful and much more affordable than any hotel room for the quality we received. Definitely a must-stay hotel for those traveling to Rothenberg ob der Tauber.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the guest house across the street. Has several bedrooms, living room, and is cheaper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Book ahead to make sure that you can stay there when in Rothenburg. Just unbelievable. The few rooms are all individual, reflect the old times offering modern convieniences. The owners who operate the Weinstube make it perfect. Very friendly and you really feel at home. The restful night is followed by a good breakfast.

Room Tip: Everything perfect. Just watch out for the steep stairs, but is a few hundred years old.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We enjoyed our brief stay in this very old, charming medieval inn with lots of vines growing up the front of the building. The rooms are nicely upgraded, & the food was great. TONS of old world ambience. Once you get inside the walls of the old city, the streets can be VERY narrow for modern day cars, so we had a bit of difficulty finding our way to this place, so I recommend having a map and/or an updated GPS to help get you here. The inn is located within easy walking distance of the main old town square.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice now (2010 and 2012) and have not yet had any issues with the service or my room - by happenstance I've been given the same room for both of my visits. The breakfasts are very good as is dinner in the restaurant. I suspect that some travelers may require more coddling than others.

Room Tip: There are two apartment style rooms separate from the main hotel - less than a one minute stroll dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Altfrankische Weinstube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altfrankische Weinstube

Address: Klosterhof 7, 91541 Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Rothenburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Altfrankische Weinstube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altfrankische Weinstube Hotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altfrankische Weinstube, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.