We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in Rothenburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Altfrankische Weinstube

Save Saved
You added Altfrankische Weinstube to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Altfrankische Weinstube
Klosterhof 7, 91541 Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 45 hotels in Rothenburg
Pismo Beach, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Stay in Rothenburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We had been to Rothenburg ob der Tauber once before in late November 2010. It was a rushed visit and we liked what we saw and vowed to return. We did just that in September 2012. We stayed one night and also enjoyed dinner in the restaurant on site. The service was friendly at both the hotel and the restaurant. Just prior to checking in, I was looking for someone to help me with that and I encountered 2 women from Argentina at the front door. We had trouble communicating because of language differences but what I did understand from them that this hotel and restaurant were "the best" by their standards. Carmen was serving food and drink in the dining area. She was friendly and helpful. Our visit wouldn'thave been the same without her. We enjoyed a great meal that evening and a tasty and filling breakfast buffet the next morning. We plan on returning to Rothenburg in the future and no doubt, we will stay at the Altfranische Weinstube and Hotel. As a side note, the room was clean and fresh. After the nightwatchman tour, we returned to the Weinstube and had a glass of wine and beer before calling it a night. We visited with 4 Americans that we're also enjoying the evening at another table. Before the night was over, Carmen also joined in the conversation. Her English was quite good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    32
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
81
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Festus
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I was disappointed in this hotel. Mario (owner) was not very friendly. He did not offer suggestions for sightseeing in Rothenburg and all of the staff just kind of ignored me for a good ten minutes when I first arrived and was trying to check-in. My mom and I stayed two nights and the staff did not make up our room. It was also very difficult to find the hotel. The parking inside of Rothenburg is a nightmare, so be warned if you are driving, but we made it work. The room itself was very nice and was clean when we arrived. The breakfast was good and had a good assortment of items available.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Considering this was actually our second visit to the Weinstube, I was disappointed that the staff (apart from the lady who checked us out at breakfast) were so incredibly rude and dismissive. Preferred to serve the table outside drinks rather than help us at all with any grace or manners or interest. I felt a bit sick paying up.
Breakfast is a bit disappointing - little choice, no fresh fruit - and the rooms, while fine, do not have showers, only baths with shower attachments.
The location is ideal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The photos only give you a peek into the charm of this place. We were unable to book the main inn but stayed in the guest house just steps away. Our apartment in the guest house was just fantastic and wonderfully furnished. Another plus for Altfrankische is their restaurant where breakfast is served by candlelight and dinners are outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettystown, Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

this is a very nice hotel/guesthouse that is full of charm, the rooms are nice but get the studio room for extra space, the restuarant is very serves very good food at a reasonable price, this hotel is also in a great location

Room Tip: try and get a studio room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is a quirky and charming hotel with loads of character. Upon arrival there was only a phone number to call for registration, but no phone. Fortunately the owner arrived and took us to our lovely room (#1). It was spacious and comfortable. We were directed to a street parking spot and assured there would be no trouble finding another if we used the car (and they were right).

Our only concern was with the curious bathtub. It was slippery and slick, requiring care for exiting once it was wet. Well, the room was quirky, right to the bathtub.

Free wifi is advertized. It was not available in our room ("the walls are too think"), but another traveler reported "four bars" of signal in his room. The signal was poor in the public area so I ended up talking to the Wunderbar Cafe for wifi. The poor signal at the hotel was a cause for some frustration, but not enough to make us disappointed in the pension.

Breakfast in the Weinstube’s breakfast lounge provided abundant choices of breads, meats, fruit, coffee and cereals. Definitely a great way to start off the day of exploring the magical city of Rothenburg ob der Tauber.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This is a real gem of a find. Great spot within Rothenburg by the side of the museum. A place with character and we loved it. Fabulous room - low ceilings and a separate area for tv and relaxing. Nice bathroom with corner bath. Great food - you won't aways have a table to yourself at breakfast - we enjoyed meeting other travellers and chatting to them. We had booked for two nights and stayed for three. Perfect stay if you are on the Romantic Route.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room atthe back of the hotel as people sit and enjoy a drink outside at the front ill quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Altfrankische Weinstube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altfrankische Weinstube

Address: Klosterhof 7, 91541 Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Altfrankische Weinstube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altfrankische Weinstube Hotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altfrankische Weinstube, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.