We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint charm rather ruined by terrible attitude of staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Altfrankische Weinstube

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Altfrankische Weinstube to your Saves list
Altfrankische Weinstube
Klosterhof 7, 91541 Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Quaint charm rather ruined by terrible attitude of staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Considering this was actually our second visit to the Weinstube, I was disappointed that the staff (apart from the lady who checked us out at breakfast) were so incredibly rude and dismissive. Preferred to serve the table outside drinks rather than help us at all with any grace or manners or interest. I felt a bit sick paying up.
Breakfast is a bit disappointing - little choice, no fresh fruit - and the rooms, while fine, do not have showers, only baths with shower attachments.
The location is ideal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    44
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
30
101
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The photos only give you a peek into the charm of this place. We were unable to book the main inn but stayed in the guest house just steps away. Our apartment in the guest house was just fantastic and wonderfully furnished. Another plus for Altfrankische is their restaurant where breakfast is served by candlelight and dinners are outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettystown, Ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

this is a very nice hotel/guesthouse that is full of charm, the rooms are nice but get the studio room for extra space, the restuarant is very serves very good food at a reasonable price, this hotel is also in a great location

Room Tip: try and get a studio room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
261 helpful votes 261 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is a quirky and charming hotel with loads of character. Upon arrival there was only a phone number to call for registration, but no phone. Fortunately the owner arrived and took us to our lovely room (#1). It was spacious and comfortable. We were directed to a street parking spot and assured there would be no trouble finding another if we used the car (and they were right).

Our only concern was with the curious bathtub. It was slippery and slick, requiring care for exiting once it was wet. Well, the room was quirky, right to the bathtub.

Free wifi is advertized. It was not available in our room ("the walls are too think"), but another traveler reported "four bars" of signal in his room. The signal was poor in the public area so I ended up talking to the Wunderbar Cafe for wifi. The poor signal at the hotel was a cause for some frustration, but not enough to make us disappointed in the pension.

Breakfast in the Weinstube’s breakfast lounge provided abundant choices of breads, meats, fruit, coffee and cereals. Definitely a great way to start off the day of exploring the magical city of Rothenburg ob der Tauber.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This is a real gem of a find. Great spot within Rothenburg by the side of the museum. A place with character and we loved it. Fabulous room - low ceilings and a separate area for tv and relaxing. Nice bathroom with corner bath. Great food - you won't aways have a table to yourself at breakfast - we enjoyed meeting other travellers and chatting to them. We had booked for two nights and stayed for three. Perfect stay if you are on the Romantic Route.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room atthe back of the hotel as people sit and enjoy a drink outside at the front ill quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Our niece was determined to stay here based on reviews, pics and stories of the hobbits that live here. This place most certainly has a magical feel. They only way I can think to describe it would be something you would find at Disneyland, but its actually real. The rooms are very large and the old beams that make up the hotel are amazing if you like history. Rooms are updated but the owners have done a great job to keep the historical and magical feel. Be sure to look for the witches in the breakfast area, hint: look up. We had dinner one night and it was one of the best meals we had throughout the trip. The owner was very gracious as we had to leave out early the next morning and she prepared breakfast early just for us. And, as other reviewers have said cash is king here and the only king, so be prepared. I just loved this place and again wish we had more time to explore. This is a walled city as it was hundreds of years ago and if your driving it can be a bit challenging as the roads are very narrow and full of tourist. The German signs are a tough task as the street names are all so similar. Be sure and go on the Night Watchmans Tour. Not only do you get to see and learn some history of the town, but its hillarious and we were glad we did not miss it. This is a great place I would not spend less than a couple days to soak it all in.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We booked this hotel via their website and arrived during dinner, which was a bit hectic as the lady checking us in was serving food, but she was wonderful, giving us our roomkey & a key to their personal garage for my car before disappearing back into the restaurant.

The room itself was beautiful, with great timbers on the ceiling and a LOT of antique-y stuff displayed everywhere. Not surprising, the hotel is over 600 years old... The room came with a sitting room with a TV and a separate bedroom which worked great for our 5-month old to sleep in peace.

The location is great, as Rothenburg is so very walkable. Just can't say enough about this place. If you like quaint, small and romantic, this is your place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Altfrankische Weinstube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altfrankische Weinstube

Address: Klosterhof 7, 91541 Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Rothenburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Altfrankische Weinstube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altfrankische Weinstube Hotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altfrankische Weinstube, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.