We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gastehaus Flemming is now Gaestehaus Rothenburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gastehaus Flemming

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rothenburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gastehaus Flemming
Save
You added Gastehaus Flemming to your Saves list
Klingengasse 21, 91541 Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 36 Rothenburg B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gastehaus Flemming is now Gaestehaus Rothenburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Gastehaus Flemming changed ownership, and is now Gastehaus Rothenberg. Telephone +49 (0) 9861 923 80; info@gaestehaus-rothenburg.de I stayed here May 29 & 30, 2014. Gunnar Rosenhauer and his wife Ines are enthusiastic, committed hosts, and take excellent care of their guests. The rooms are bright, clean and fresh, with lots of thoughtful touches. The breakfast is lovely. The location is fantastic, only a few blocks from the Markt (Market Square, the centre of town), and close to an entrance to the town wall. Gunnar and Ines provide lots of suggestions for restaurants and activities. I traveled for two weeks in Germany and Rothenburg was my favorite stop and Gastehaus Rothenberg was the nicest place I stayed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Massapequa Park, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed in Rothenburg and what a great city!! Stayed at a Bed and Breakfast, Gastehaus Flemming. It was very clean and a great value! Regina Flemming is a great proprietor, and she prepared a wonderful breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed two nights and were delighted with the room and the service. Regina was most gracious, and the breakfast was wonderful. Even better, the back yard of the gastehaus was a garden where we were able to sit and read and enjoy the birds when we weren't out and about.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

This was our second stay, the first one was in 2002. We stayed three nights this time. The room was large, clean and pleasant. It overlooked a main entry street into Rothenburg. As such it was rather noisy, even at night. A group of people called looking for rooms at 3:40 in the morning! Breakfast was cereal, yoghurt, rolls, cold cuts and jelly, nothing special but plentiful.

Frau flemming was very pleasant and efficient. I don't really understand previous reviewers as I noticed she was very friendly with her customers and made conversation. I think she was a little shy if German is not your native language.

Parking is a bit of a problem. You now have to pay for parking near the Klingentor or in Shrunnplatz. If I were to stay in Rothenburg again I'd find a place on the plats or with parking. We were able to park outside on the street for an hour without charge.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

While living in Frankfurt, Germany for nearly 2.5 years, we often visited Rothenburg ob der Tauber. Whenever we did we always stayed in this bed & breakfast (guest house). We found Ms. Flemming, who operated it, to be friendly and fair. It was always clean and reasonably priced. We have recommended it to others based on our many positive experiences.

We loved the location within the old city walls, the fact the house was originally built in about 1200 (of course, upgraded several times, including recently), we could park there and walk all over the city, the food, etc.

Anyone can have a bad day and the reason I am adding my review is that often it is those who have bad experiences or attitudes who write and those of us who have the expected good experience don't. So add our review to the very satisfied.

Please note the date of our trip is incorrect because our several trips were before the oldest date in the pull down menu.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011 via mobile

Wonderful location inside the wall by Klingentor and very quiet if you get a garden side room. Ms Flemming was easy to deal with by email and answered promptly. When we arrived w/ our 2 kids she had a lovely family room ready for us. The cheap drinks in the fridge downstairs were a great deal. The breakfast lacked variety-no cereal or muesli and no whole grain brotchen or decent fruit but the price was comparable to the OK breakfast. It seemed to be a hassle for her to let us bring breakfast upstairs when the kids slept in and then she seemed to be frustrated with us when we didn't leave till noon and she didn't get to clean! But in good Bavarian style she ran a tight ship and things were spotless w/ a lovely backyard garden. We might go back again. Maybe since we stayed 5 nights we got on her nerves! It would have been perfect if there had just been a few more smiles!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, MN
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

We stayed at the Gastehaus Flemming in 2002 and, again, in July of 2010. We had two rooms this time and both were spotless and nicely decorated. The breakfast is hearty and the grounds are delightful. (See my photos and you will know what I mean.)

The water in the shower was always hot and the water pressure was good. There was a hair dryer to use. The beds were comfortable and the bedding was nice.

You can get water, wine or beer from the fridge on the main floor. Beer was about 1,50 euro, if I remember correctly. There is paper next to the fridge and you just jot down how much you owe and pay when you leave.

Our only complaint would be the street noise. Since you have to keep the windows open (no air conditioning), the street noise can be a bit much at night, although we have had much, much worse noise elsewhere.

Some people have complained about Frau Flemming. She does come off a bit cold and unfriendly but at the end of this most recent visit, she and her husband spent some time talking with us and we saw a very friendly side of her that we hadn't seen before.

NOTE: They don't take credit cards and you probably won't be told this when you book on-line (we weren't.) Prepare to have cash on hand or you will have to run to the ATM in the town square.

SUGGESTION: Take the Night Watchman's tour at 8 pm (in English.) It is WONDERFUL!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gastehaus Flemming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gastehaus Flemming

Address: Klingengasse 21, 91541 Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gastehaus Flemming, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.