We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel...our favorite of the trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gotisches Haus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gotisches Haus to your Saves list
Hotel Gotisches Haus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herrngasse 13, 91541 Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Charming hotel...our favorite of the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I only stayed one night at this hotel but wished we could have stayed much longer. The atmosphere was romantic and charming with the feel of an old castle. It was recently renovated so our room was very spacious and the bathroom had a spa tub, which was a great perk after being squeezed into tiny bathrooms with only standup showers. Breakfast and WiFi was included with our reservation. The breakfast was yummy with a good assortment of foods and the WiFi always worked without having to sign in every 5 minutes. The staff was very friendly and spoke English which was helpful given we knew limited German. Parking was available for 5 additional euros per day right across the street. Our only hassle was actually trying to get to the hotel (via car) since many of the streets were closed for construction.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    32
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
138
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bothell, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed 2 nights in this hotel and were delighted with the style of the room, the friendliness of the staff and the location. The room was quiet and comfortable. The huge soaking tub was nice after walking the city all day. The breakfast buffet in the morning was a great way to start the day. We were able to connect to the free Wi-Fi with no issues. If you are visiting this walled city, I highly recommend staying at this hotel.

-Amber

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Incredibly beautiful hotel, lots of history, but with lovely modern bathrooms and amenities. The included breakfast was delicious and the service was very friendly and helpful. The room was very large, very beautiful, and we had our own separate balcony for a pre dinner drink. Views from the room were breathtaking: beautiful valley on one side and the village itself on the other. Our only regret was that we werent staying longer.

Room Tip: Very top floor only has a lift to third level and you will need to haul your bags up another flight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed here for two nights on our honeymoon. Perfect room for such an occasion. Very charming "old, rustic, castle" decor with modern conveniences. Very comfortable bed. Magnificent bathroom with a real American shower and hot tub. Great location to the city center. We want to come back real soon!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the deluxe room. It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

What a find this hotel was. It doesn't have many bedrooms but you can choose each individual room online. Everything in the room was perfect, decor, cleanliness and an amazing bathroom. The bed was so comfortable, like sleeping on a cloud, that I had to enquire about the mattress (sad!) and then tried to find a comparable one in the UK. Staff were polite and friendly and it's right in the centre of Gothenburg. How many hotels have candelabras burning whilst eating breakfast, it was like staying in a castle. Would definately revisit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed here with my wife and two friends,from June 24th to 27th. This is a charming hotel, right in the heart of this medieval city. It provides a fantastic jumping off point to visit Rothenburg and the surrounding area. When staying here, you get the feel of being in a truly historic building in this well preserved city but with its modern touches you get all the comfort you require. While not a Four Seasons type hotel, the rooms comfortable, our balcony view looking over the valley was great for that evening glass of wine,the staff was very accommodating, parking was easy,and the breakfast was "very" good. Hard to know what to expect when you find a hotel on the internet but without any qualms, we all agreed we would stay here again on any future return trip to Rothenburg!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Excellent location in old center. Built in the 13th century has kept its design but with added up comfort for the guests. Very welcoming staff, iron framed bed from the middle ages, very soft, big and comfortable. Huge bathroom with a superb bathtub, to enjoy after a long walk in the cool sunset. Breakfast was also suprisingly reach in possibilities.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gotisches Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gotisches Haus

Address: Herrngasse 13, 91541 Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rothenburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gotisches Haus 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Gotisches Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gotisches Haus Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gotisches Haus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.