We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“German lodging at it's typical best.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Altes Brauhaus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Altes Brauhaus to your Saves list
Altes Brauhaus
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Wenggasse 24, 91541 Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“German lodging at it's typical best.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

This was my second visit to the Altes Brauhaus. Just two blocks from the main street, it is very convenient, especially if one drives. The Altes Brauhaus has its own underground parking garage costing just 11 euros/day. And they let you keep your car there for the afternoon even after checkout.
Despite the "Brauhaus" in its name, there are no current brewery operations. One can tell that at one time the large room which is now used just for breakfast hosted many folks who hoisted a few. And speaking of breakfast which is included in the price of the room, it is a large, typical European breakfast--what Americans would call "Deli meats," cheeses, hard boiled eggs, fruits, cereal, juice, tea, coffee, etc. If you make advance reservations, you may find a place card with your name on it at one of the tables. On our first visit, the table was shared with a lovely elderly German woman who spoke about as much English as I do German (not much) but we had an absolutely fine time over breakfast.
The rooms are again "typical" German. Absolutely spotless, a small TV with German programs, a phone, lots of oranges and greens, comfortable beds, with duvet. (As it can get warm, especially in non-airconditioned facilities, I've learned just to take the duvet out of its cover and sleep with just cover=--very comfortable.) The bathrooms are also spotless with commode, sink, shower/tub. Remember to bring a washcloth if you use one. Washclothes are generally not provided in European hotels unless you stay at one of the international brands.
The owner/operators are also typically German: not gushing with warmth but genuinely interested in making your stay pleasant. All staff we encountered spoke English.
Finally, the location. As noted, it is about two blocks from the beginning of the main tourist street. It is generally quiet. I believe they sometimes host tour groups so a large group of people may swarm in or out, but that never caused us a problem.
I've been twice and will go again when more friends visit us and want to visit Rothenburg.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    39
    15
    1
    2
See reviews for
31
34
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eiskitten
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

I would heartily reccomend this beautiful hotel in a historic building mentioned on the city horse drawn tour.

We booked last minute (Friday morning for Friday night arrival) - hotel staff were friendly and helpful from the start even reccomending a lovely italian restaurant where we could find food after our late arrival! Our garage price was reduced due to a stay longer than one night and breakfast was yummy each morning!

your room key opens the main door should you be out past ten pm and as a mother of a young child I like this extra security.

Our room in the eaves was huge by European standards and had both a decent over bath shower (albeit with slightly erratic water temperature) and a bath tub perfect for a soak after wearing those feet to the bone on the tourist trail!

I would say is that breakfast is definately a european one not American as advertised, saying that extras were provided with a smile including hot chocolate for myself and scrambled eggs for another guest.

One last comment I was pleasently surprised as to just how well my baby was handled by staff - cots are available although we took our own, a highchair was available at breakfast along with lots of smiles even after the trail of destruction around the table and he was presented with a beautiful rubber duck on departure as a very sweet and for once baby safe leaving gift.

Many thanks to all for a wonderful stay and I hope my review will help - if you are looking to stay in Rothenburg.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

A lovely hotel in a central location in the Old Town. The room (104) was relatively basic but large and extemely clean with access to a large balcony. Beds were good with blankets being available as an alternative to quilts. Parking is available at the rear of the hotel with direct lift access to all levels of the hotel, making the transfer of luggage straight forward. Staff were extremely helpful and went to great lengths to help us access the Internet on our laptop as we were from Australia. Breakfast was a typical European breakfast which was more than adequate. Complimentary chocolates were also provided in our room upon arrival. All in all, we had a lovely 2 night stay in December and would have no hesitation in recommending or returning to this hotel.

  • Liked — Location and general level of service provided by staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2008

We stayed in a quad room the nights of 11/4 and 11/5. The room was small, in addition to being barely decorated and furnished. It lacked the necessary amount of chairs needed for people in a quad room. There was no mini fridge. They advertised they provided an American breakfast. They didn't. The only hot food they had was sausage. Nevertheless, breakfast was adequate. The bathroom needs to be regrouted since there was mold between the tiles. Yukk! The shield in the tub/shower was inadequate because the water still ended up on the floor.

The good points are people in the hotel who were pleasant and professional, and they had a beautiful breakfast room. The location was good too, but Rothenburg is so small anyway. This was a 10 minute walk to the train station, which is very convenient for people travelling by train.

However, we expected a lot more from a 4 star hotel!

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2008

What a gem. Huge rooms, clean, comfortable, perfect location.
We were devastated to only be staying 1 night here.
Will definitely go back.
Nice breakfast, unbelievable facilities for a quaint place.
Value for money and a highlight.

  • Liked — Everything. Clean and homely. Hot shower. Lollies on the pillows.
  • Disliked — Nothing at all.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
388 helpful votes 388 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2005

Our group of 15 spend the night at this charming hotel and it was one of the best on our 2 week tour. The decor is in keeping with the "cuteness" of the town and the food, service and cleanliness of the place was first class. We were 5 minutes from the town square and I'd stay here again in a hearbeat.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Altes Brauhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altes Brauhaus

Address: Wenggasse 24, 91541 Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Altes Brauhaus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Altes Brauhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altes Brauhaus Hotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altes Brauhaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.