We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vorm Wuerzburger Tor 7, 91541 Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 45 hotels in Rothenburg
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The decor in this hotel is unique and lovely. Everything is very tasteful. OUr room was beautifully furnished with the added bonus of a Nespresso coffee machine. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We ate in the restaurant and were not disappointed by the meal. The wine waiter brought us wines to match the food and his suggestions were excellent. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    34
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
14
47
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We arrived late in a Monday night and the bar manager insisted to carry our luggage to the room. As the bar would be closing in 10mi., he brought us in the room the drink of our choices. All else from there was just as pleasant, even though we stayed only one day in this hotel.
Location is very good, just 100 yards from one of the Rothenburg's gates. The property is likely post-war in age, as the whole areas was bombarded and heavily damaged. Yet, the building is very well conserved and the decor was very well done, with touches of modernity in places, with a pleasant overall atmosphere.
Breakfast was typical German excellence, with a careful staff, managed by good and thorough Frau. Cleanliness all around was spotless, even the gardens and outside floors were very clean and manicured.
This simple hotel was one of the many uplifting places we visited during our 10 days romantic vacation in Southern Germany.

Room Tip: As many older hotels in Europe, it pays to request a room in advance, and in the back of the buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is a beautiful property with a rather fancy feel to the lobby and restaurant. There are a small number of rooms, which are teeny-tiny but well-appointed. There is no air conditioning, but the windows open. The bathroom was comparatively good-sized and well laid-out and also had a window for air movement. Free Wi-Fi and parking onsite. The location is just outside the city's walls, which is about a 10 minute (gorgeous) walk to the city's center. The 8 euro breakfast was very nice, except there were no covers over the food plates, so the flies were all over the fish, meats, and cheeses (yuck). Seems like such a simple fix.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ksolt
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed here recently for a few nights. The room had great promise but unfortunately did not deliver. The hotel has no fans and no a/c. Which normally would be fine, as our room had a ton of windows. However there is a restaurant directly under the window which is open until 11 or so (very loud), we were facing the street (car noise is fine), but there is a beer garden across the street, other hotels, and lots of people shouting and making noise until the early morning. So leaving the windows open was hard to do. when I closed the shutters to keep some of the light out in the morning, there was probably about an inch of dust per shutter slat. Also well the room is nicely laid out (shower is fantastic), my wife dropped something under the bed. Under the bed was filthy, i mean dust under there from the renaissance period i think.
Anyway, cute hotel, easy walking distance to town, but very dirty in the room, very noisy should you be unfortunate enough to be facing the street/restaurant. Upon check out the young lady at the front desk was however very nice and apologetic and did offer me a bottle of wine (which was very good) for our unfortunate experience. I would not recommend this hotel, nor would I stay here again. The breakfast though was 8 euros per person and very nice. It was a nice change to be able to order eggs different ways with crispy bacon. But other than the breakfast this hotel is a let down and in 2 weeks of staying at hotels across europe, it was the dirtiest and noisiest.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We had the great opportunity to stay at this hotel during our recent stay in Rothenburg. The staff was amazing! We had a warm greeting upon checking in, a tour of then villa, and were escorted to our rooms. The rooms were very comfortable, clean, and charming. There was plenty of space, the beds were comfortable, and my wife really appreciated the real hair dryer. Our breakfast was also great in the morning with cooked to order eggs and omelets, as well as the best hot chocolate on the trip. The location was perfect, just yards from the town wall. Plenty of free parking was a plus as well. The only down side was a weak wifi router. Overall outstanding quality and a great value. We will stay here again on our next visit without a doubt!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Currently spending one night at this hotel. Greeted by a sour front desk attendant who didn't seem to want to be here. Room is tiny, albeit updated.

The free wifi is a joke. I can barely get enough signal to post this review. Very low signal strength and keeps dropping.

Now, trying to have a shower and there is no hot water. Of course, no help to be found anywhere as the staff appear to have all left us to our own devices for the evening.

Worst hotel of a two week stay in Europe. Stay away.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The hotel is located just outside the town walls. It was extremely convenient to everything you want to do in Rothenburg. The decor is eclectic and very nicely done. Our room and bath were very clean and the bed was comfortable. We booked a double but were surprised to find a double bed against the wall, with a desk at the foot of the bed. You had to climb over the person next to you to get out of bed which was a very strange set up for a double room and very inconvenient. The girl who checked us in walked us upstairs to the room and made no mention of an elevator. I don't know if there was one -- we did not see it. We only stayed one night so it wasn't too bad. However, I would have changed rooms if we were staying longer. All in all, I would recommend this hotel for the convenience to the town and the cleanliness of the room and bath.

Room Tip: Be sure to check the arrangement of bed(s) in room before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel

Address: Vorm Wuerzburger Tor 7, 91541 Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 45 hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.