We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality, great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel-Garni Hornburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel-Garni Hornburg to your Saves list
Hotel-Garni Hornburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hornburgweg 28 | Rothenburg ob der Tauber, 91541 Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wimberley, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great hospitality, great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay in September. Location is perfect for exploring the town without having to go into it with a car. Restaurant recommendations were spot on. Room was huge and clean. Bed very comfy. Shower worked well. And the breakfast was delicious, served in a pleasant atmosphere. Great price. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    27
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
59
141
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed in January. The hotel's driving instructions and our GPS made it very easy to find. As you approach the city wall, the hotel is on your left and adjacent to the hotel is a public parking lot, where you can pay the hotel to park overnight; they issue a dashboard permit.

The hotel is old, charming, gracious and in great condition. The second floor has a sitting area with an honor bar and a computer station.....very helpful to international travellers. The breakfast was wonderful. The hosts were very helpful.

The location just outside the city wall is perfect....its so close to everything. Just perfect.

Room Tip: Up two flights of stairs is a double room that is oversized.....that was ours. It had a sitting room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

I've been meaning to write this for awhile. My wife, daughter and I were in rothenberg twice. Once in winter 2008 and again in spring 2010. Both times we stayed here and loved it. Great service, perfect location, nice rooms. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Rothenburg ob der Tauber is a favorite destination. I've been here several times with friends and family. I went there last June to enjoy it by myself. The most enjoyable place I stayed at was the Hotel-Garni. From the outside, it looks like a small castle. Inside, it is clean, wide open and "gemütlich." My room was large and clean and everything worked. When they discovered that I would be there on my own, they adjusted the room rate for me. When checking in and out, they were very cordial and friendly. I have recommended this hotel to friends who live in Germany. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matzenbach, DE
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

Martin was wonderful the moment we checked in, we had requested room #15 which was unavailable, upon arrival Martin showed us the two rooms that were available to us and let us decide which we liked more. We stayed in the room that had the adjoining bathroom, it was still quite private. Martin gave us plenty of information and "Must See" advise. The breakfast was delicious! We enjoyed ourselves so much that we decided to stay another night, which Gabrielle helped accommodate. Overall a bit pricey but for what you get a wonderful expirience with charm and character! Just outside the city walls and complete with a grassy sitting area. We loved it.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

Our family of 4 just stayed here for a visit to the Christmas markets. Gabby and Martin were wonderful hosts, and the breakfasts each morning were delicious. It's in a great location, literally right next to the wall, thus an easy walk into and around the market area. They are also great about answering any email questions you have. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends! Oh, ladies, there are full size hairdryers in the bathrooms, not the standard small, compact ones, so no need to pack your own:-}

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 14 & 16. For room 14, it has a private bathroom but is not IN the room. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the lovely Hotel Hornburg in Rothenburg o.d.T. this past weekend. Our room was very comfortable and breakfast was delicious, and the staff was very helpful and friendly. It is very quiet at this hotel as it is off the road just far enough to eliminate all traffic noise, but it is in a very convenient location for parking and walking the few steps into the lovely walled city. We actually thought most of the other rooms were vacant because we heard no noise in the hotel, but were surprised the next morning when we saw so many fellow guests in the breakfast room. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel-Garni Hornburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Garni Hornburg

Address: Hornburgweg 28 | Rothenburg ob der Tauber, 91541 Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rothenburg
#7 Family Hotel in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Garni Hornburg 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel-Garni Hornburg is a individual hotel which offers you ten charming and tastefully decorated rooms with modern comfort like Cable-Television, radio etc. All rooms are NON-SMOKING rooms! Quiet, central location. Official German Hotel-Classification is 3*. Special service is a Internet Terminal just for the use of our guests without charge and WLAN (provider HOT-Spot) in the rooms and public areas with charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel-Garni Hornburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Garni Hornburg Hotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber
Garni Hornburg Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel-Garni Hornburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.