We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Klosterstueble

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Klosterstueble to your Saves list
Hotel Klosterstueble
Heringsbronnengasse 5, 91541 Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Chicago
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Just Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel was a highlight on our trip! When we arrived, we asked if it would be possible to change our reservation to a room with two beds. I was suffering from a horrible cold, and my poor husband had been kept up all night because I was coughing constantly. Not only did we get two beds, Erica upgraded us to an apartment which had an entirely separate ROOM (with door!) at no additional cost. We were thrilled! That's just amazing service right there! Rothenburg lived up to my expectations and then some, and Hotel Klosterstuble was an essential part of our wonderful stay! Great breakfast, free use of computer, lovely location... just awesome!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    86
    15
    7
    0
See reviews for
119
173
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis MN
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We arrived late tired from flying and riding trains all day. Erica Beckh, our marvelous hostess, showed us to our room which was exactly what was described in the email confirming our reservation. It was a large room with windows facing two sides overlooking a beautiful church from the middle ages with a fountain that was still gurgling water to the basin below and old homes that were now hotels and charming restaurants. The room was on the lst floor, or our second floor with fifteen steps or two short flights of stairs. The building was once a nunnery for the church next door. It has now been converted into a beautiful, quaint and charming hotel with old woodwork and stone work in the breakfast room that can't be replicated in this day and age. The hotel was very very clean and the bathroom was spacious and modern. Erica asked us if we wanted or needed anything and we mentioned a beer would be great. The next thing we know there is a knock on the door and she is bringing us beer to cheer us up after a very very long day of traveling which never appeared on the bill.

The breakfast buffet in the hotel was in a beautiful old stone room with rolls, danish, breads, fruits, yogurt, granola, tomatoes, jams, juices,meats and more. Diana or Erica came to our table and brought us coffee and asked us how we would like our eggs made to order. The breakfast was terrific and the two ladies couldn't do enough for their guests.

The hotel is located close to all the shops and not far from the city wall or the town center, but far enough away so that when nightfall comes, quietness comes over the city and it is medieval again as all the tourists buses have left the area.

A reservation is a must especially during the tourist season. We made ours by emailing the hotel months in advance in order to get this particular corner room. We spent five nights in this hotel and loved every minute of it.

For their guests they had free computer time available on a computer down the hall from our room that we used a few times.

The dinner restaurant was closed two nights we were there but the night it opened we had dinner at the hotel's restaurant. The restaurant is small and very intimate and mostly frequented by locals and people staying at the hotel. Our meal was so good that we came back the second night and had dinner at our same table. Reservations are advised as they do fill up.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and acquaintences. We would love to come back to Rothenburg ob der Tauber and stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Email and reserve a room as far in advance as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stay from here from the 23.11. to 25.11.12 in this wonderful hotel.
Its very central, only 100 meter from the 3 amazing Christmas shops from Kaethe Wohlfahrt away, perfect renovated building, super friendly team and a tasty breakfast & a wonderful restaurant with soooooooooo tasty food. reservation is a must : Then its really always full booked. (..that say a lot about the quality... Main guests on the 2 evenings : 60 percent USA, 20 Asia and the rest Germans. And all liked it)
We get a room in the "newer" part : The room was very cosy, soo romantic, very huge, super bed and we have 4 windows with a lot of natural light. 2 to the medieval street (..without traffic ) and 2 to the church next door.

When we come back we stay 100 percent here again.
A real pearl in the most romantic city of Germany.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Charming, quaint inn close to everything in the older part of this beautiful, historic town. Our room was plenty spacious for two; bedroom separate from sitting room with table, window overlooking patio and nook with bench seat. Breakfast included - eggs made to order, danish, cheeses, breads, fruit, yogurt, granola, nuts, tea, coffee were delicious and beautifully presented. Clean, quiet inn and very friendly, helpful and courteous staff. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Room was clean and bright; front desk friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfast. All in all a good value. The architecture is striking because they started with an old building (buildings?) and refurbished everything. The woodwork is ancient but bright and the lighting throughout the hotel is imaginative. One improvement I would suggest is internet access in every room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Mix of historic with touch of modern in Lobby. Excellent breakfast & dinner. Helpful, friendly, English speaking staff. Close to town center & night watchman tour. Street parking but we parked outside town wall & walked in. Loved Rottenburg & this hotel

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Hotel is located on a very narrow street inside the walled city of Rothenburg, across from the Franciscan Church. If arriving by car, it is best to call ahead for exact directions and parking information, since there is much street work in progress and it is not easy maneuvering through the narrow, pedestrian filled streets of this charming, medieval city. Our room at the hotel was on the second floor and Erika helped us upstairs with our luggage. The room was large and the windows faced the quiet street. Decor was rustic with lots of wood. Bathroom was small and note that there is a special light switch to turn on the heating element as well as the hot water. Plenty of closet room although difficult to access because of bathroom door. Good natural light from windows but poor light from lamps. Also, the lights in stairway are not sufficient and one might miss a step if not careful. Complete European breakfast is included in the cozy dining room, but perhaps the best aspect of this hotel is the restaurant on site. We had two lovely dinners there, with typical German fare and local wine. Best meals of our trip in Germany!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Klosterstueble? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klosterstueble

Address: Heringsbronnengasse 5, 91541 Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rothenburg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is hardly a town in Germany that is more charming and traditional than Rothenburg. In the historic part of this enchanting city you find the Kloster-Stueble, your romantic home for unforgettable moments. For three generations now the Kloster-Stueble has been owned by the same family who want to welcome their guests in a very personal atmosphere. That's why we only have individually appointed, romantic rooms, reflecting the cozy atmosphere of our town. He offers you a traditional, yet sophisticated cuisine, using only fresh, local products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Klosterstueble reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klosterstuble Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Klosterstueble, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.