We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Romantic Road Base Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haus-Karin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rothenburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Haus-Karin
Save
You added Haus-Karin to your Saves list
Hans-Sachs-Str. 26 | Rothenburg ob der Tauber, 91541 Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 35 Rothenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Carmel, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Romantic Road Base Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

During early September 2013 I stayed at Haus Karin in Rothenburg for five nights. The location is a great base for travel along the Romantic Road and a short one kilometer walk through a park to the city wall. My single room was on the second floor, overlooked the city and was very clean, comfortable and reasonable in price. Karin's breakfast buffet was an excellent spread and well presented with cereals, breads, jams, cheeses, meats and eggs. She even provides a refrigerator in the hall stocked with free beer and water for guests. Karin was a very gracious hostess and she and Hans saw to all my needs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    16
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
36
71
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at Haus Karin about a year ago on a visit to Germany and I have not stopped thinking about it since. Karin and Hans were by far the most gracious of hosts and made us feel so welcome while we were there. Hans picked us up from the train station within 15 minutes of our call and we were treated very well from there on out. When we arrived, Karin showed us around the house and also gave us some information on the town and where to go. Our room was wonderful and very clean. Karin bends over backwards to make her guests comfortable and happy. We felt like we were visiting with family!

Oops, can't forget about the wonderful breakfast spread that Karin puts out every morning. Just wonderful!! Also, the value that you get here will almost make you feel guilty! But, you can always give Karin and Hans a generous tip ;-)

Thank you Karin and Hans, you helped make our trip even better and that nostalgia is what will bring us back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My wife, Chris, and I spent two wonderful nights staying at Karin's house during May, 2013. Everything positive you have read in previous reviews is spot on the money.
The accommodation is wonderul. Karin and her husband, Hans, are wonderful. The breakfast is wonderful - and the location is second to none for exploring the walled city.

Also, we were picked up at the train station before our arrived and dropped off at the train station after our stay.

It's easy to see why this property rates #1.

Thank you Karin and Hans - we had a simply marvellous stay with you and the lovely city of Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber.

Steve and Chris Foster

Room Tip: We stayed in the large A-frame room on the top floor, so cannot say anything about the others. But o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We recently stayed at Haus-Karin and fully enjoyed it. Elegant and clean house and full of hospitality. Karin also borrowed the city guide book to us and recommended the best restaurant in town. Delicious breakfast with various type of food. Special arrangement of free beer and sparkling water in refrigerator. Reasonable price.

Louisa

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We recently stayed at Haus Karin and thoroughly enjoyed it. Embarrassingly enough after an evening visiting the old town we got lost and Karin had to come out after 10 p.m. and pick us up
because we were hopelessly lost. Fantastic breakfast to complete an enjoyable stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Karin and Hans are the best hosts you could possibly ask for, they make you feel like family. As soon as we arrived, Hans and Karin greeted us and took us to our loft style room which was big yet cozy. Karin took my wife and I to a huge window overlooking the city and gave us one of her famous guidebooks and told us exactly where to go. In describing directions to the city she grabbed my wife's right arm and said "What is this?" my wife (also named Karin) said "My left arm". Then Karin said "remember that! Down the street, left at the path, and a quarter mile and you are in the city." Then she let us be after giving us just the right amount of information to get our day started. Listen to her recommendations for food in the city, she's spot on. The best meal we had on our trip was her recommendation!

Karin loves what she does and cares for her guests. She retired and wanted to keep busy so she started a B&B but you can tell it's more than that to her and Hans. Every morning she would have the huge spread of food and sit with us and fill us in on German news, American news and all around German culture. She has a big portrait of Bismarck on the wall overlooking the dining room. (FYI American friends, the little bowl with nothing in it is for table trash and scraps.)

They have a stocked fridge with water, beer and have all kinds of teas and coffee available. She even put the orange juice that I really liked from breakfast up there as well:)

Staying at Haus Karin was one of the best decisions we made on our trip. It's the perfect location for visiting the city about a 1/2 mile away (safe short walk). The best part is leaving Haus Karin through her garden with the ivy covered entrance with the cool wooden gate as you walk out. It's quiet, quaint and she makes it feel like you are staying with family.

We wanted to thank Karin and Hans again for her hospitality and wholeheartedly recommend staying here for your trip to Rothenburg.

Room Tip: The bigger loft style room is good for couples and more private. The other two rooms have nice views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marysville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We first stayed with Karin in March 1999 when our kids were 2 years old and 6 months old. Since then we have been there at least 10 or 11 times and have never been disappointed. Karin and Hans are very gracious and do their best to make you feel at home. They know everything about the city and have plenty of recommendations for things to do. Leave your car at Karin's; it is only a 5-10 minute walk to the city center. The breakfasts prepared by Karin are the best ever! Hans goes to the backeri every morning for fresh brotchen. You got to try Karin's homemade plum jam. The rooms are extremely clean and comfortable. If possible bring Karin a jar of peanut butter.

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable. Tell if traveling with kinder to get the bigger family room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Haus-Karin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus-Karin

Address: Hans-Sachs-Str. 26 | Rothenburg ob der Tauber, 91541 Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable rooms to rent 5 min walk to the walled city adults / children welcome, private entrance, private bathrooms TV, parking available. free transport from / to train-station delicious German style breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Haus-Karin Hotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haus-Karin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.