We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't hesitate: go!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prinzhotel Rothenburg

Save Saved
You added Prinzhotel Rothenburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Prinzhotel Rothenburg
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   An der Hofstatt 3, 91541 Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 45 hotels in Rothenburg
Gatineau, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't hesitate: go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This hotel is located in the old town of Rothenburg, yet in a quiet street. Good and efficient reception. The room was large, nice, comfortable and clean. The (included) breakfast buffet offered variety and quality. I hope I can return some time soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernest_Kraft, Inhaber at Prinzhotel Rothenburg, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Denise,

Well, that's a clear recommendation! Thank you very much. We do not hesitate to wish you a Merry Christmas and a very Happy New Year! Hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    53
    34
    15
    4
See reviews for
19
73
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forli, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The hotel is in a central position, close to several good restaurant. Tidy and silent rooms. The hotel staff are very pleasant and attentive. But the best thing is the excellent breakfast! There is everything. Just a couple of thing to improve: if you want to drink an espresso you have to pay an additional cost and the wifi is not free.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernest_Kraft, Inhaber at Prinzhotel Rothenburg, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Franco B,

Thank you very much for your positive notes for your our breakfast buffet. We are working very hard on the standard, because we want to offer the best standard in Rothenburg.

Regarding your suggestion to "Free Espresso" - please consider that we only charge for our houseguests a breakfast price of EUR 5,- for the whole buffet items and brewed coffee, or high class Ronnefeldt tea - as much as you like...
Now that is a very, very competitive price. Please have the mercy to grant us a little bit of additional revenue if it comes to extra orders from guests beyond the limits.

Looking forward to serve you another espresso with a smile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forlì
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Prinzhotel is a good hotel to stay in Rothenburg, breakfast is huge and good but be caruful with the bedrooms choice. I have a double room smaller than my collegues ones. Seen that the price is the same i advice you to check and ask for a change if needed. my room was one of the one which is sided to the city walls so if you can see the walls from your door window then probably your room is a small room. during the night i was waken up by someone screaming...i haven 't understand if he was inside or outside the hotel but the important thing is that the room does not cover external noise . Next time i'll be in prinzhotel i'll carefully check &choose my room

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernest_Kraft, Inhaber at Prinzhotel Rothenburg, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear bigoi75,

Thank you ever so much for a clear and positive rating of our extensive breakfast, which is one of our USP's.

I am very sorry to hear that a screaming disturbance was waking you during the night. I would not have been amused either - sometimes there are really silly people around. But that is outside our control and the first we hear. The windows are new and keep up with the “normal” traffic noises and are of course soundproof. I wish they would also be "scream proof" to your sleeping benefit.

Glad that you take it relatively cool. Looking forward to welcome you back soon to the Prinzhotel.
Best regards,
Ernest Kraft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We spent there 2 nights during our tour to Rothenburg at the end of September.
The location is great – just couple of minutes from the centere of the old city.
The check in service was great and helpful and we got a nice room on at the hotel front with nice view of the wall. The room was comfortable with 2 windows that we kept opened most of the time. We liked to stay there.
Parking was easy as the hotel has some parking lots and there were a lot of places along the city wall.
My two comments:
1 - The breakfast seems to be poor – we tried both the continental as well as the buffet and both were not satisfying.
2 - The bathroom water stream was low.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernest_Kraft, Inhaber at Prinzhotel Rothenburg, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Arik_Gazit,

Thank you for your very positive comment. Sadly you could not enjoy right from the start our really extensive and rich breakfast. How come?

1. You booked from a wholesaler a a special low rate, which only includes reduced Continental breakfast.

2. The fact, that you had to pay then a supplementary charge - by the way, only 5 EUR - for the full breakfast buffet, probably spoiled your breakfast mood.

We recommend to carefully double check travel arrangements from tour operators, which services are actually included and which are not. Do not be blinded by the lowest rate.

Without this hick-up you would have loved our breakfast. So, we get blamed for someone elses fault. Next time book over our own Prinzhotel booking engine - the best deals - only here...!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkmichael, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Recently booked in here for 6 nights and on arrival thought it was a bit scruffy. As we made our way to our room, noted the grubbiness of the corridors, and hoped the room wouldn't be the same. Well it wasn't as bad, but it was a pokey wee cell. Then remembered we had booked - and paid for - a superior room, and went down to reception to point out their mistake. You've guessed it - ours was a superior room. And we saw some of the others when the doors were open for housekeeping and they were even smaller. Next insult was getting a parking ticket in the street outside the hotel - where they told me to park. The local authority came along and stuck up some temporary "no parking" signs - talk about entrapment - where my car was already parked. The hotel couldn't be bothered telling guests, many of whom got the punishment. Then they charged me for losing a plastic electronic door key.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernest_Kraft, Inhaber at Prinzhotel Rothenburg, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
How on earth is it possible, that a customer hates his room, calls it scruffy and tiny wee, but then STAYS actually 6 nights...?

Has he been perhaps trapped in his room, tied to the floor with strings like Gullivers in Lilliput, by all these little midgets living in these other wee wee tiny tiny guest rooms?

Come on, you are just upset because of the parking ticket you got for not parking properly! You are the driver and responsible for you car - not us. Do not blame others for your negligence. Practise your driving skills and learn to love the world - it is fun.

Guests, who actually are still able to articulate their wish to our reception staff, will be helped with prompt friendliness and the aim to find a solution - whilst - they are still on the premises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The lacation is unbeatable! Right out the front door to the stairs to the top of the wall, so you can walk the town wall. Parking was on site and plentiful. The bathroom was a joke, shower so small I went without showering,beds not to comfortable either. Very hot room ,we were on the back side with no a/c, you at least need to have a breeze for your room .Could not leave windows open because the building behind it looks right into your room. Elevator not working very hard to carry 4-bags to the third floor with no assistance from fron desk, really did not seem to care. But keep it possitive, the location is probably the best in town for all restaurant and shops .

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room on the back side-no view or privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernest_Kraft, Inhaber at Prinzhotel Rothenburg, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear Dave,

Thank you for the accolade "great location" of the Prinzhotel Rothenburg. A lot of other guests appreciate that as well and book also for that reason.

Regarding your coments to size of shower. Well.., we do not know what waistline you have ;-) but all showers are standarized size. Can it be that you were overall frustrated with the very very hot weather? It is absolutely understandable - but that is what we call nature.

DId you make a point of contacting reception, whilst you were our guest? We can normally always sort something out.
You could have cooled off in our new Cocktailbar TopinamBAR - here we have your beloved air conditioning, both - in the restaurant and bar - had a chance?

It is all well to write in TA after you left, but here we cannot really help you anymore, but to thank you for your still positive lines and hope to see you again in winterime. By the way, we have central heating :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Five in our company stayed for five nights in three rooms during July. The hotel and staff exceeded our expectations in several ways. I had booked standard rooms, but we were given the larger superior rooms at no extra charge, all three rooms colocated at the end of the corridor. These rooms are extremely spacious for European standards, very clean, and comfortable. We had a great view of the town wall and towers. Parking was free and convenient either right in front of the hotel or along the wall, although you need good parallel parking skills for the latter. You definitely want to book the early bird breakfast on the hotel web site. At €5 per person it is a great bargain. The breakfast buffet is excellent including warm options, sausages or pancakes or eggs. The staff was great, providing hot milk on request and setting a large table for us. We were lucky that the weather was not too hot, and kept the window tilted open over night, making the room quite comfortable. All the sites of this beautiful, must-see city are within easy walking distance. It's great to take that last evening stroll at the end of a fun day of sightseeing on the cobblestone streets back to the hotel. Another fun thing is to climb up to the walkway on top of the wall right next to the hotel. Another thing is that the hotel allowed a non-guaranteed booking when I made the reservations, with free cancelation until the day of arrival, which is rare in Europe's top vacation destinations. It was a wonderful experience and I would stay in the Prinzhotel again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernest_Kraft, Owner at Prinzhotel Rothenburg, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
A big THANK YOU for your 15 room night’s stay or equivalent 25 guest night's with us!!

Your comments are surely of a big value to us regarding credible evaluation of our services, since you had a lot of days to judge the hotel infrastructure and experience different staff and their job motivation.

Again, we are very happy that our new breakfast standard is liked so well. This is due to the fact that we built especially for individual guests an own breakfast buffet, additionally to the separate group breakfast buffet in the next banquet room. With now two breakfast buffets we can ensure a smoother breakfast flow and ease demand peeks.

Your hint to our own website booking engine of the Prinzhotel (cbooking) should proof very helpful to other guests intending to stay with us. No other web booking sites provides such good deals and booking conditions like we do.

Other Online Travel Agents (OTA) do not have the technical means to display the numerous individual booking options, which are only found on our own official Prinzhotel Rothenburg booking website - and we make sure that it stay like that!
Guests booking over these other channels but us do not know that they "donate" their money to big anonymous corporations. Booking with us also means receiving an individual reward and always better conditions.

Please share the information of your experience with us to as much of your friends as possible - you ensure that we can continue to invest in our hotel - and make it nicer from year to year...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Prinzhotel Rothenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinzhotel Rothenburg

Address: An der Hofstatt 3, 91541 Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 45 hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Prinzhotel Rothenburg 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Prinzhotel Rothenburg is located very quietly within the old town and ideally provides stairs to access the historic townwall and Roedertower, which are directly next to us. It provides 50 very comfortable modern designed room categories standard, superior and bel etage, which have been renovated recently including big new bathrooms with daylight effect, over 60 TV channels with 32" LED flatscreens and WiFi. Fantastic private breakfast buffet for individual travellers. Wellness Packages enhance the romantic weekend break. You can book the best room rates and offers, with up to 15% rebate - but only on the OFFICIAL Prinzhotel Cbooking engine. The Hotel is accessible by car without hindrance. You drive directly with your car in the front of the hotel. On the terrace of our airconditioned restaurant Topinambur you enjoy, fresh regional dishes - and a daily happy hour in the Cocktailbar TopinamBAR. We serve the best Rothenburg coffee specialities with incredible foamy variations and thick tasty waffles - try us for a fantastic coffee experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Prinzhotel Rothenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prinzhotel Rothenburg Hotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber
Prinzhotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prinzhotel Rothenburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.