We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Reichs Kuchenmeister

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Reichs Kuchenmeister to your Saves list
Hotel Reichs Kuchenmeister
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kirchplatz 8, 91541 Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Magnificent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We were in room 116 and were just blown away by the beauty of the room and how clean and roomy it was. The restaurant, although pricey, was really good! The breakfast buffet was impressive as well. Lots of variety and hot items (the mini pancakes were wonderful!). The hotel is located close to the center plaza and free wifi was only available in the lobby. The staff was courteous and we had no issues. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    66
    14
    5
    7
See reviews for
44
67
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

This was a brilliant location to discover Rothenberg. Our room was excellent - couldn't be faulted. However, no free WiFi in our room was a disappointment. Breakfast was acceptable at €11 per head. We booked through Booking.com many months ahead and received a quoted figure for our pre-determined stay. When paying, a different amount was stated because of the "weekend" and "undercover" parking. This is fine, but should be made clear upfront, as this may alter the establishment booked.
Reception staff were inconsistent in their dealing with guests, but all other staff were excellent. Some reservations about a future reservation.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Service at check in and check out is abrupt and rude. Not fun to be barked at upon arrival or when you leave. The staff were like that with everyone, just not a happy bunch. The hotel has lots of character, rooms are clean and location cannot be beat. The gentleman who assisted my husband to the hotel parking was the most personable staff we encountered. We had a quad room for a family of four and it worked well for one night. We didn't pay the 11 Euros per person for breakfast. (The highest price of all hotels we stayed in over 2 weeks touring several countries). Go to the café just on the opposite corner from the hotel. We all had a pastry or sandwich and a drink for 11 Euros in total. Whirlpool room is neat but water is not hot.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bursa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

rothenburg is a magnificent place and the hotels location is just at the center of town, restaurant is very good in traditional bavarian dishes, especially flammkuchen is wonderful, you have to make reservation if you want to eat at the garden. rooms are clean and quiet, wi-fi is free at the lobby but charged if you want to use at the room.

Room Tip: hotel has two buildings, one of them is old historic and the other is new builded, we stayed at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We arrived last week after a long drive from the Italian Lakes, to be greeted by a stolid female receptionist (conveniently, her lapel badge sported her name, Frau Preeg) who was not so much unfriendly as downright hostile. It was extraordinary. When we asked politely, in German, whether she spoke English, she snapped at us that she did and then thundered that she could not even discuss our booking or where we might park the car until she had our passports. Basil Fawlty at his worst couldn't have been more charmless, or less suited to the hospitality industry.

Otherwise, the hotel pretty much delivered. The rooms were large and clean. The rates were reasonable. However, I resent being asked to pay for WiFi, and I also noted a sign on the ground-floor WC demanding that non-residents pay 50 cents for the use of the loo. I can only assume that such a policy was put in place by the appalling Frau Preeg, no doubt to keep out "the riff-raff".

We wouldn't dream of returning to the Reichs Kuchenmeister, or for that matter to Rothenburg itself, which is by any measure a remarkably preserved little medieval town, and certainly worth one visit, but might have been spun out of sugar. Not that there was anything sweet about our welcome. As far as we drove to get there, I would drive twice as far in the opposite direction to avoid ever having to deal again with a woman quite that rude and unfriendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Live Oak, Texas
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Excellence is the optimal word for this hotel. The owner is personally interested in each and every guest, and her attitude is pervasive throughout the entire staff from the chef, to the waiters, to the custodial staff. The entire hotel is immaculate, and it is right in the center of the old city, making it easy to walk to every attraction you would ever want to see. You would be hard pressed to find a better hotel anywhere. I was amazed to see that it is only a three star hotel, which is way off target. It should be at least rated four stars.

Room Tip: Any room would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

This hotel is situated in a wonderful location, very near the city center. The hotel was very clean, however the rooms were a bit outdated.,, mainly the bathrooms. Breakfast was average and wifi wasn't very good. The location makes up for any flaws with the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Reichs Kuchenmeister? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reichs Kuchenmeister

Address: Kirchplatz 8, 91541 Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Reichs Kuchenmeister 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Reichs Kuchenmeister reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reichs Kuchenmeister Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Reichs Kuchenmeister, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.