We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good German food, great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gasthof Goldener Greifen

Gasthof Goldener Greifen
Obere Schmiedgasse 5, 91541 Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
+49 9861 2281
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 102 Restaurants in Rothenburg
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: German, Family Fare, Diner, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Description: Our restaurant specializes in Franconian fare with tasty dishes like marinated beef, and moist roast pork soaked in an unforgettable gravy, and a side of red kraut and potato dumplings. Try it with a glas of Franconian wine. Meet the locals in our restaurant, enjoy your beer in our beer garden - or just have a little break with soups, salads or sausages...
Aurora, CO
Top Contributor
447 reviews 447 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
344 helpful votes 344 helpful votes
“Good German food, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Located right off the main square in the hotel. The atmosphere was comfortable and more casual than I was expecting. Service was upbeat and friendly. We were looking for typical German food and this fit the bill and for a reasonable price.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    46
    18
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Too Many Americans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The food was pretty good -- two of us had the Wiener Schnitzel which was great, but the Pommes Frites with it were very average. One had a Pork Shoulder...very dry. But the red cabbage and dumplings with it were yummy. The salads were very good. Our biggest disappointment was that we were surrounded by tourists. As we left we realized there was another room filled with locals, or at least Germans. We had been taken to a back room that was where all the tourists were.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swartz Creek, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Begging for a tip!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Slow service, seated us at a dirty table, never brought napkins. We had to beg for the bill and then he begged for a tip. No, I would not recommend ever. Rude and slow. I tip for service that is prompt and respectful.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirtz, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Family friendly restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We had a delicious meal with our family at this restaurant. There were children's books readily available upon entry. On the outside patio there were several rideable children's toys. The food & service were wonderful & attitude delightful. Their potato dumplings are to die for. They even had child size cutlery. Everything about our lunch was delightful. Look forward to coming back again & staying the night.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Ok food, good beer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The food was what you would expect. The service was friendly & efficient. This is a nice stop before taking the Night Watchman's Tour, which meets outside in the main plaza. Do not miss the night tour!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gasthof Goldener Greifen also viewed

 
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
 

Been to Gasthof Goldener Greifen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gasthof Goldener Greifen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.