We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good at best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gasthof Goldener Greifen

Gasthof Goldener Greifen
Obere Schmiedgasse 5, 91541 Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
+49 9861 2281
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 99 Restaurants in Rothenburg
Price range: $7 - $24
Cuisines: Diner, German, Gastropub, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Description: Historischer Gasthof mitten in der Altstadt von Rothenburg, nur wenige Schritte unterhalb von Marktplatz und Rathaus. Regionale gutburgerliche Kuche mit frankischen Spezialitaten. Biergarten und Raume fur Gruppen und Feierlichkeiten.
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Service was excellent, Menu was very nice, Price was a little high, Food was average at best,
Find another restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    41
    16
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Outside Biergarten Perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We were looking for a place that would accommodate 6 adults and 4 small children. We were lead to the rear outside biergarten which allowed the children to not be constantly seated. Imagine our surprise when performers for a show in the square came in and sat down for a bite. We knew we choose wisely. We had a great meal which can be a chore with small children.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Service, Wonderful Meal All Round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

This is a hotel and restaurant

I stayed in the hotel last week. Service was immaculate.

Had lunch with my friends here too. The waitress was very friendly and warm. Huge plus that all the wait staff spoke English. Despite the restaurant being busy, they still found time to check in once in a while to see if we were alright. Food was great too, especially this roasted pork dish.

When I was checking out in the morning, the waitress heard I was rushing for a flight and hurriedly whipped up a delicious breakfast spread for me in 2 minutes

Great place to stay and dine!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great Service But Below Average Meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The service was friendly and timely. The food was average at best. Don't order the "cannelloni"! It is some sort of an egg pancake with little flavor. My son had sausage with sour kraut that was very good however. Fair value, but not a do-over for us.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice lunch in Rothenburg ODT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

There are quite a few restaurants to choose from in Rothenburg and we picked this one at random and were very pleased. We were there for lunch and had one traditional German Brat meal and one plate of wild boar goulash with sides of spaetzla and cranberry sauce. The goulash was excellently spiced and the meat was so tender it fell off the fork. Menus in German and English. Our waitress was pleasant, efficient, and professional. A very nice experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gasthof Goldener Greifen also viewed

 
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
 

Been to Gasthof Goldener Greifen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gasthof Goldener Greifen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.