We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Wonderful Meal All Round” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gasthof Goldener Greifen

Gasthof Goldener Greifen
Obere Schmiedgasse 5, 91541 Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
+49 9861 2281
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 101 Restaurants in Rothenburg
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: German, Family Fare, Diner, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Description: Our restaurant specializes in Franconian fare with tasty dishes like marinated beef, and moist roast pork soaked in an unforgettable gravy, and a side of red kraut and potato dumplings. Try it with a glas of Franconian wine. Meet the locals in our restaurant, enjoy your beer in our beer garden - or just have a little break with soups, salads or sausages...
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Service, Wonderful Meal All Round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is a hotel and restaurant

I stayed in the hotel last week. Service was immaculate.

Had lunch with my friends here too. The waitress was very friendly and warm. Huge plus that all the wait staff spoke English. Despite the restaurant being busy, they still found time to check in once in a while to see if we were alright. Food was great too, especially this roasted pork dish.

When I was checking out in the morning, the waitress heard I was rushing for a flight and hurriedly whipped up a delicious breakfast spread for me in 2 minutes

Great place to stay and dine!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    45
    18
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orem, Utah
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great Service But Below Average Meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The service was friendly and timely. The food was average at best. Don't order the "cannelloni"! It is some sort of an egg pancake with little flavor. My son had sausage with sour kraut that was very good however. Fair value, but not a do-over for us.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice lunch in Rothenburg ODT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

There are quite a few restaurants to choose from in Rothenburg and we picked this one at random and were very pleased. We were there for lunch and had one traditional German Brat meal and one plate of wild boar goulash with sides of spaetzla and cranberry sauce. The goulash was excellently spiced and the meat was so tender it fell off the fork. Menus in German and English. Our waitress was pleasant, efficient, and professional. A very nice experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis MN
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nice Bavarian Fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This restaurant had typical German food which appeared to be cooked in the Bavarian style. It appeared to be a restaurant with a lot of locals eating there. We ordered Kruso (beer) and a Wiener Schnitzel plate with coffee. The food was very good --ordinary with no surprises. The Wiener Schnitzel plate was 14.90 euros which was reasonable. My only complaint was that when asking for a refill, they charged you for another cup of coffee. We ended up paying for 3 cups of coffee instead of two at 1.90 euros a cup. The beer ran us 2.60 euros per .3L of beer.

This was a good place for lunch that we stumbled upon during our wonderings of Rothenburg ob der tauber. We would order the same food again if we ever returned for a visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Great regional German food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This restaurant has an excellent regional German menu and they deliver it very well! Service is friendly and professional and most staff speak decent English (the menu is in German and English). The food is the real highlight - on both our visits the meals were fantastically German. Great flavours, great presentation and really yummy! A two course meal with drinks for about €25 person.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gasthof Goldener Greifen also viewed

 
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
 

Been to Gasthof Goldener Greifen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gasthof Goldener Greifen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.