We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort room, good food, confusing hotel entrance!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of AKZENT Hotel Schranne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added AKZENT Hotel Schranne to your Saves list
AKZENT Hotel Schranne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schrannenplatz 6, 91541 Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 47 Hotels in Rothenburg
Belo Horizonte
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Comfort room, good food, confusing hotel entrance!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I´ve stayed there for one night in september/12. The hotel location is nice. Although is not exactly in the city center, is beside the wall that circle this medieval city. Is a quiet place, with a bucolic view. The room I stayed, had a good size. The bath had a small curtain, so the bathroom was completely soaked after a shower. The restaurant in the hotel has a good food with honest price.
The hotel entrance is a little confusing. The signs indicated one door, but to go to the rooms you have to go to another. It was a good stay. The hotel is ok. However, perhaps if I return in Rothenburg again I will stay in other place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    59
    25
    4
    3
See reviews for
24
32
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We were very happy with our experience at this hotel. The room was typical European with a double bed and smallish bathroom. The room was clean with minimal amenities. The only real complaint was the lack of soundproofing, we could hear our neighbours getting ready for bed in the evening. Our room was a dormer on the 3rd floor with a great view of the city wall, and gate Thankfully they have a lift which is not the case with many of these old buildings.
It was an affordable stay inside the Old City. The free parking is a nice benefit. All the staff spoke some English. We eat dinner in the hotel and were pleased with generous portions of traditional German dishes at very reasonable prices. The breakfast buffet was good as well. Be aware that if you want AC they charge 10-15 euro extra per day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Overview: The Akzent Hotel Gasthaus Schranne is a good choice for a hotel within the city walls, especially if you want the option of air conditioning in the summer. Parking is free, and breakfast was good. Wifi costs extra. My only issue was that the air conditioning unit suddenly decided to make noise, but I believe this was just bad luck and other travelers should not expect this.

Location: The hotel is located on the north side, just inside the city walls. The entire old city is easily walkable from this location. The area immediately around the hotel seemed quiet during my stay.

Room: I opted for a superior room with air conditioning. It was large, clean, and modern, with an excellent bathroom. The bed was very comfortable. The windows were on the front of the hotel, overlooking the public parking lot and city walls.

The option of air conditioning cost an extra 20 euros, but given that it was 87F (31C), it was worth it. I did not find any other hotel within the city walls that even had the option. The only problem was that the air conditioning unit (an otherwise extremely nice, quiet and new inverter type unit) began to make a high pitched noise around 4am. It had been running quietly all day, but a fan bearing probably went out at that time... just some bad luck. The temperature outside had dropped dramatically overnight, so I just turned the unit off. I was only staying one night, so I did not ask to get it fixed.

Facilities: Parking is free. There is a large public (pay) lot directly in front of the hotel, but a few spots are allocated (free) for the hotel, so make sure you park in the correct place. I believe there is also free parking available behind the hotel.

I did not have dinner at the restaurant, but breakfast was very good and included sparkling wine for mimosas. Wifi costs 6 Euros per device, and I did not opt for it.

Value: I found the hotel to be similar in price to other hotels within the city walls. The things that make the Schranne hotel stand out are the convenient free parking and the option of an air conditioned room.

Room Tip: If you are traveling in the summer, you have the option of booking a room with air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, IN
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Schranne on a two week tour of Germany. Upon arrival to Rothenburg we parked in lot number five and walked through the gate, pleased to find our hotel conveniently located just inside the wall. We were informed that there was free parking behind the hotel, and made our way there. We traveled with another couple, but my sister had made her reservations from the UK and mine were from the US, and we were booked in different sections of the hotel. They were very different!! Our room, on the side where the lobby is located, was roomier than theirs and had a much larger bathroom that included a tub and bidet. We were given the option to switch to their side, and opted to keep our larger room. Unfortunately, the room was not as clean as I’d expect. There was a large amount of hair on the bathroom floor, and a towel from the previous guests hanging on a hook behind the door to the room. I swept the hair into a fairly large pile to the corner of the room with a tissue, and left the tissue there. The next day, the tissue was gone, but the hair was still there—as was the towel behind the door. I know, I could have informed the front desk at that time, but I’m not entirely comfortable with getting someone into trouble—especially when they’ll have access to my personal belongings for another day. I did inform the desk upon checkout, and she seemed genuinely sorry and promised it would be fixed. Upon reading other reviews, it seems this is not a common occurrence, and it wouldn’t necessarily discourage me from staying here again. My sister was happy with the cleanliness of her room.

This was the most crowded of the hotels we stayed in, and many of the guests were teenagers whose school band was performing in the main square. It made for a lot of noise both outside and in the hallways, even late at night (not the hotel’s fault, of course). The biggest issue was the breakfast buffet. We arrived at 9:00 to find very little being offered—there were a large number of empty plates and baskets. I inquired about scrambled eggs and was told no more were coming—I indicated the time on my watch, and the woman shook her head at me. I indicated then at the empty bread basket, and a few minutes later she did bring another small stack of bread. Another few minutes later, we did also receive a plate of scrambled eggs, but I didn’t see that being offered to others who came in a bit later than we did. We saw some people with bacon, but that didn’t appear again on the buffet, nor was it offered to us. Other empty plates were not replenished either. The second day was significantly better, as the large group left early.

We did enjoy our general stay here—the staff was quite friendly, the vast majority spoke good English, the location was close to the city wall, and the free parking was a bonus. We didn’t eat at the restaurant except for breakfast, so can’t comment on that. If you are staying in other parts of Germany, check out my reviews of Hotel Grand Esplanade in Berlin, King’s Hotel City Center in Munich, Hirsch Hotel in Fussen, and Die Hershgasse in Heidelberg, as well as reviews on many sites and tours around those locations!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side where the lobby is located!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We recently stayed two nights at Hotel Schranne and unfortunately it seems that we weren't there at the best time. The hotel seemed to mostly be occupied by a school band troupe who were performing in the central square of the town. This lead to much noise being heard outside and in the corridors in the evenings (which is obviously not the fault of the hotel) and to scant food being left in the morning at breakfast.

Even though we were told breakfast carried on until 10:00am and we arrived at 9:00am, there was very little food left. All of the eggs had gone, there was once slice of bread and most of the meat had been taken. Initially there didn't seem to be any indication that the food would be replenished, until we complained a bit and were eventually brought two plates of fresh scrambled eggs. This was appreciated, but unfortunately it did seem to be quite a reluctant gesture.

The room we stayed in was very basic - with two twin beds and a very small bathroom. To be honest, it was a bit reminiscent of student accommodation. My sister had a much bigger bathroom, which unfortunately wasn't too clean. Our room was clean and comfortable enough and the staff were friendy and attentive (although sometimes it was hard to get served a drink in the front of the hotel and we had to ask for the bill twice one evening).

However, all of that being said, the location of the hotel is outstanding (just a little bit outside of the main area, but close to everything) and there was parking available behind the hotel which was very convenient. The little bonus treat at check-out was lovely too - too bad I just couldn't acquire a taste for schneeballen.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and it was so lovely. We had breakfast and dinner there. The food was amazing, and the staff were so friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The location is brilliant, it is so close to everything. We really enjoyed our stay and have wonderful memories of this place.

Room Tip: Any room would be great here it is so homely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

The hotel is in a great location and very pleasant. Rooms are small, but comfortable. Price is very reasonable. And the breakfast, which is included, is a great spread and very tasty. Couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AKZENT Hotel Schranne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKZENT Hotel Schranne

Address: Schrannenplatz 6, 91541 Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 47 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — AKZENT Hotel Schranne 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your AKZENT Hotel Schranne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AKZENT Hotel Schranne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.