We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe not for light sleepers” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Eisenhut

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Eisenhut to your Saves list
Hotel Eisenhut
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herrngasse 3-5/7, 91541 Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Maybe not for light sleepers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Excellent location, 2 mins from the market square. We had a room on the first floor overlooking the street. Left the window open as it was stuffy in the room & there was no air con, unfortunately that meant we had to close it whenever there were smokers at the entrance to the hotel. Foot traffic church & bells mean there are no sleep ins! Bathroom was quite awkward, particularly the shower. Takes about 5 mins for the hot water to kick in. Buffet breakfast was average, not worth 12 euros, blueberry muffin was excellent though. Much better value to be had at a cafe half way between market square & Rodertor. Key ring for the room was massive, didn't love having to squeeze it into my day bag.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    100
    33
    8
    6
See reviews for
64
140
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Novelty, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My husband and I were part of a European Castles tour when we stayed on night here. We were delighted at this hotel's central location, right next to the Kaethe Wohlfahrt Christmas store, near the center of town. Our room was large, clean and had a view of the hotel patio and the rooftops of this medieval village. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom had an amazing bathtub. The bath had a wall mosaic with mermaids! Breakfast was delicious with a lot of variety. We were fortunate to have seen the Night Watchman tour, which immersed us in the 14th century world which is Rothenburg. The hotel staff was very courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArvenaHotels, Manager at Hotel Eisenhut, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Shadelovers,

We are really excited about your review. Great that you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed Rothenburg.

Maybe we'll see you next time again, we would be delighted!

Best wishes from the Hotel Eisenhut
Steffanie Schlag / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

We booked a jr suite & ended up on top floor with a great corner view. Had great Birdseye view of downtown which was only a short walk away. The room was great with huge beams & then you walk into a fabulous modern shower with a rain head too! We were sorry we didn't do the night watchman tour but did do the ricks haw bike tour. He took you to some great obscure photo opts. Loved the am breakfast most anything you wanted. Would love to have stayed more than 1 night. Beware very small elevator!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArvenaHotels, Manager at Hotel Eisenhut, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear sudaniel,

thank you for your time to write this nice review.
I am very happy to read that you had a nice stay with us.

It would be great to seeing you again!

Kind regards from all members of staff
Steffanie Schlag / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I really enjoyed this town! The hotel was really neat and gave you the feel of the area. The restaurant was very nice and they have a beautiful terrace to enjoy your meals with amazing views. The town itself is one not to miss. The staff was very helpful with the little questions we had. Again the town was amazing and so fun to wLk around and will visit again for sure!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArvenaHotels, Manager at Hotel Eisenhut, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear TravelingFireman04,

Thank you for your time to write this nice review.
I am very happy to read that you had a nice stay with us.

It would be great to seeing you again!

Kind regards from all members of staff
Steffanie Schlag / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Book here, and you get a friendly helpful reception, a good room, very central location, excellent breakfast, free wifi, and the optional dining is good, all with great German service. Quality, vlaue and a memorable experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArvenaHotels, Manager at Hotel Eisenhut, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Andrew B,

I am very happy about your positive feedback and that you had a nice stay in our hotel.
Thank you that you have taken the time and have posted this review.

We appreciate seeing you again!

Kind regards from Rothenburg
Steffanie Schlag / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We were booked into this hotel (two rooms) by our travel agent. We were rushed through
the check in and front desk not very helpful or friendly. Our car was whisked away and we
were given our room keys. While I understand this is a very old, historic hotel, the rooms we were
given looked nothing like the pictures on the hotel's website. The bathroom had a step down
tub/shower made of mosaic tile with a mermaid design. The "tub" seemed almost dangerous to step into if you if you wanted a bath and would have been very uncomfortable. Funky doesn't really describe it! The other bathroom was normal but an awful mix of materials for decor. Plus,
the washcloths were paper towel like mitts to remove makeup, etc. and two little bottle of shampoo
were the only amenities. The rooms themselves had very dated furniture and looked somewhat
shabby. Beds not very comfortable as well. I will say we had dinner in the restaurant and the food
and service were excellent. The breakfast buffet in the morning was average and the food in the
serving containers had been there awhile. I would recommend breakfast elsewhere (we were
charged twelve euros for the buffet) and would not stay here again if we returned to Rothenberg.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArvenaHotels, Manager at Hotel Eisenhut, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear pcham1951,

Thank you for your time to write this review about your stay at our house.

I'm sorry to read that you were disappointed with your stay at our hotel.
Each room in our hotel is unique. With great attention to detail, the period furniture of the rooms have been restored. Also, each bathroom is very different and the bathroom of your room is unique in our hotel. Many guests remembers it as a small Roman bath. The room which you have stayed, is one of the most popular rooms in our house. With a private balcony you are overlooking the beautiful Tauber Valley. Our bathrooms are equipped with two towels for the hands and two for showering. In addition there are robust paper washcloths, cotton buds and cotton balls, hand soap and two shower gels for body and hair.
Thank you for your compliment to our kitchen and our restaurant staff. I appreciate your positive comment.

Best wishes from the "Eisenhut" in Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Steffanie Schlag / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC area
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

The large ornately furnished rooms give a glimpse into what this grand old hotel once was - a place where movie stars & dignitaries stayed. Today it's a nice alternative to the boxy rooms of the smaller hotels of the city. This is my 4th stay in Rothenburg, each in a different spot, and this was our favorite. The location is great and can't be any closer to the main sites. It's a challenge arriving through the pedestrian filled narrow streets. I'd not want to do this in the thick of summer. Because it's next to Kathy's Christmas and the their sightseeing bus, it's congested in front of the hotel with little space to pull up for check in. Inside, there are winding halls and our room required taking 2 different elevators which was odd, but charming. The halls are nicely decorated with antique art and furniture. We had a huge room for our family of 3. Even with a rollaway bed there was lots of extra room for loveseat, 2 charis, desk and TV stand. There was a wall of windows overlooking Herrngasse. The bathroom was equally huge with double sinks, towel warmer, large well-enclosed shower and baskets full of a variety of toiletries. The room had a foyer with huge closets, coat rack and umbrella holder as well as mini-frig. The room was a bit outdated and worn in a comfortable way, not dirty. Felt like visiting grandmas old Victorian home. We didn't eat here but enjoyed a beverage at night in the bar area. What fun reading the table of signatures of visitors past. A relaxing place to wind down. Our only glitch was the most alarming of our European tour -- the hotel staff "lost" our rental car. Herrngasse it's a busy place and we quickly unloaded so the staff could take the car to garage. Inside, someone mislabeled the tag identifying the car keys. As we prepped to check-out the staff called the room to ask if we had our car or if a friend had taken it as it was missing. Of course we did not have it nor anyone else. We realized then we had no claim check for the car AND since it was a rental, no license tag info. After describing the car, they went to look again and finally found it. What a panic we didn't need. Some less than expected service with the staff. Overall, this hotel is a shadow of her former glory but worth a stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArvenaHotels, Manager at Hotel Eisenhut, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear YukonCornelius98,

thank you so much for your detailed review. We were delighted to read your comments.

I would like to apologize for the trouble on your departure day. That is not our standard. The car wasn´t lost but the receptionist didn´t notice that the porter parked your car in another garage box. We have 25 garages in different size and sometimes the porter decide to park the car in a bigger box if the car is for example too big or large. But you are quite right, that should not happen and we will do everything to ensure that this remains an exception. Sorry!

We would be pleased if you visit us for your fifth stay in Rothenburg again.

Best wishes from the Hotel Eisenhut
Steffanie Schlag / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Eisenhut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eisenhut

Address: Herrngasse 3-5/7, 91541 Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eisenhut 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Eisenhut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Eisenhut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.