We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Medieval Hotel Eisenhut - excellent Rothenburg OBT Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Eisenhut

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Eisenhut to your Saves list
Hotel Eisenhut
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herrngasse 3-5/7, 91541 Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Medieval Hotel Eisenhut - excellent Rothenburg OBT Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Eisenhut as a family just before Christmas 3 years ago and it was simply the most magical experience with the snow, christmas markets, shops & medieval surroundings.

Coming from Australia we were so desperate to return to Rothenburg ob Tauber as a result of our previous experience that we booked into the Hotel Eisenhut for a couple of nights during mid January.

The Hotel was not busy at this time of the year and the management were doing some major kitchen renovations which did create quite a disturbance from early on in the day.The smell was also quite overwhelming as teams of men dismantled the kitchen and threw the old equipment into huge skips out the front. The Restaurant was open of an evening but the menu was very restricted (to the credit of the hotel we were advised of this restricted dining experience prior to our arrival).

Our family room was very spacious, warm, clean & comfortable. The bathrooms are a fabulous size and are just perfect for families.We found the mattresses to be too firm and they could really benefit from feathered mattress toppers. I also believe Hotels at this level should provide in room tea and coffee making facilities for their guests as a standard amenity.

We had breakfast one morning at a cost of 12 euros per person which was good value for the food that was offered. Service was excellent and the surroundings are fabulous.

As the Eisenhut is located on one of the main streets in Rothenburg it can be a bit noisy (starting early in the morning) especially if you have a room facing the street.

The Hotel is charming with so much history and interesting pieces that it's a pleasure to be able to be transported back in time. If you want to get a good grasp of what happened in Medieval times then a visit to the Medieval Crime Museum just down the road certainly paints the picture - the implements of torture alone were totally gruesome.

As a family we have travelled extensively throughout many parts of Europe and we would have to rate the township of Rothenburg ob Tauber as one of the BEST we have visited. Wherever you stay I'm sure you will feel the magic that this well preserved medieval town has to offer. The Hotel Eisenhut is perfectly located, the level of service is excellent, the Hotel is fascinating and from previous experience the Restaurant is one of the best in the area.

We recommend and would stay at the Hotel Eisenhut again in the future.

PS. And there was free in room WIFI which is always a bonus especially for the kids!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArvenaHotels, Manager at Hotel Eisenhut, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear mjp66,

we were very pleased to welcome you again in our house. Thank you for your kind and detailed review about your stay in our hotel. We are delighted that you had a nice time with us. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience again. We try to give all guests rooms, which are very quiet and far away are the renovation area. Thank you so much for your helpful comment to the rooms, which are located on the road. This we will consider in the future as well.

We look forward to seeing you again and send many greetings from Rothenburg.
Steffanie Schlag / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    109
    35
    9
    7
See reviews for
69
156
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta Georgia
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
541 helpful votes 541 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The Hotel Eisenhut is quite nice. I was traveling solo and a lot of hotels in Rothenberg are very "couplely." I was neither out of place, nor uncomfortable at this hotel. I even spent a €100 at the hotel's restaurant, although half of that was wine. Room was very spacious for Europe. The bed was comfortable. The staff was friendly. I will take the wife back here someday, and I cannot say that about most hotels I stay in solo.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArvenaHotels, Manager at Hotel Eisenhut, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear twinkles,

thank you for your stay in our hotel and taking the time to write this nice review.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again next time with us.

All the best
Steffanie Schlag / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This historic, 5-star hotel in the heart of Rothenburg from the 1700s was really comfortable and romantic with a great bar and restaurant . I cant imagine how nice it must be as a hotel and a city during Christmas . Unfortunately we were just there one night but will absolutely be back .

During the Middle Ages the Herrngasse was the center of Rothenburg. The mansions along the Herrngasse belonged to the Patricians, the most powerful and wealthiest families in town. Four of these mansions, which date back to the 16th century, are the Hotel Eisenhut today. Since 1759 the Winterbach family, one of the most influential families in town, lived in house no. 3. Many members of the Winterbach family were alderman and mayor of Rothenburg.
In 1890 Georg Andreas Eisenhut opened a wine tavern in the Herrngasse no. 3 house. Since there was no male heir, his son-in-law, Johann Andreas Ploss took over and turned the tavern into a hotel to be able to offer proper accomodation to the ever increasing number of visitors.
Then, in 1924 it was his son-in-law who took over: Georg Pirner and his wife Paula Pirner managed the Hotel Eisenhut which became one of the best hotels in Germany and was famous all over the world. Until 2006 their son Hans J. Pirner, great-grand-son of the founder Georg Andreas Eisenhut, continued the tradition in the best manner.
In December 2006 the hotel Eisenhut was sold to the hotelier family Schlag from Nuremberg. Still in private hands, the Hotel Eisenhut is now part of the Arvena Hotels.

Room Tip: Book ahead .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArvenaHotels, Manager at Hotel Eisenhut, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear ThomasKaspar,

thank you for taking the time to write this nice review about your stay with us. We were very pleased to receive your comments and historical details about our hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards from the Hotel Eisenhut
Steffanie Schlag / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Hotel Eisenhut is an absolute gem in a most picturesque town,
Staff were brilliant and really helpful
Rooms were spacious, well appointed and very cosy. The bathroom was enormous with a fabulous large bath.
The facilities and location are perfect for a visit to Rothenberg ODT and we would definitely return.
My only disappointment was the staff at the hotel restaurant - who seemed quite pompous and superior - so different from the hotel staff. We (2 of us) entered the restaurant on Sunday night - when we were told everything is much quieter as the weekend tourists have left. There was only 2 tables being used and we were told that they could only just squeeze us in as we did not have a booking. We gratefully accepted expecting to be swamped with people. We then had our dinner and about 90 minutes later there were only 2 more tables occupied - kind of strange given we were 'squeezed in'- just leaves a funny impression!
Having said all this - the food was truly great!

Room Tip: Room 204 - brilliant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArvenaHotels, Manager at Hotel Eisenhut, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear OzzieBarb,

thank you very much for your kind and detailed review. We were very pleased to read that you had a nice time with us.I am really sorry that we could not offer you a larger table. On this evening, many tables were reserved, which are simply not come or are only arrived very late. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your food anyway and would like to thank you for these comments.

Best wishes from Rothenburg
Steffanie Schlag - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Very nice experience! Cozy and nicely decorated rooms and very quiet, friendly stuff. Delicious food and vine at the restaurant, good breakfast. Wi-Fi Internet was restricted somewhat, but as everywhere in Europe. Nice shopping area around the Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArvenaHotels, Manager at Hotel Eisenhut, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear iravlas,

we were delighted to read your positive review of your stay in our hotel. Thank you so much for your comments.

Kind regards from the Hotel Eisenhut in Rothenburg
Steffanie Schlag - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The hotel is in a perfect location. Located next to the Kathe Wohlfahrt Christmas shop and steps from the center where the Xmas markets are set up. The room was large with a big/double bathroom. Your car is taken and parked in a lot for you. The hotel has a very nice restaurant and bar. All were polite with the exception of 2 waiters who were less than friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArvenaHotels, Manager at Hotel Eisenhut, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear JJKID

thank you for taking the time to write this nice review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your room and the service in our restaurant.

Best wishes from all members of staff
Steffanie Schlag - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Excellent place to stay just off the town square. Rooms are unique and quaint. I highly recommend this hotel. Plenty of local shops and restaurants nearby. Renaissance fair was going on when we visited. You definitely get the feel of 15-16 century while in Rothenberg.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArvenaHotels, Manager at Hotel Eisenhut, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Truckerken63,

thank you for the nice review about your stay in our hotel and Rothenburg ob der Tauber.

All the best for 2014!

Best wishes from the Hotel Eisenhut
Steffanie Schlag - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Eisenhut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eisenhut

Address: Herrngasse 3-5/7, 91541 Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eisenhut 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Eisenhut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Eisenhut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.