We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Nice hotel, lovely breakfast and hospitality"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Partner Hotel Merian

Save Saved
You added City Partner Hotel Merian to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Partner Hotel Merian
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ansbacher Strasse 42, 91541 Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 45 hotels in Rothenburg
Northville
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"Nice hotel, lovely breakfast and hospitality"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed here in mid-December. (We tried another place first, also on a convenient corner in town, but waited almost 45 minutes and were not yet waited on by that time so we left.) The room was clean, had separate beds for our two boys as well as our larger bed, fairly good size room. Our room had a balcony with a lovely view of the town. Lovely Christmas decorations around the lobby, stairs and breakfast area. Huge variety of things for breakfast-eggs, sausage, bacon, pastries, breads, fruit, yogurt, cereals, cold meats, cheeses, juices. The staff allowed my boys to pick handmade ornaments from the advent calendar to take home! I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    15
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
11
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
McMinnville, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We always stay here on our tips to Rothenburg. It is located outside the wall with plenty of parking and only a 10 minute walk to the main square. The manager Frau Karin wiil make you feel welcome. Rooms are basic but clean and functional. Good breakfeast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Very helpful staff: they made eggs over lightly, to order, at breakfast. Free parking next to the hotel. They have a lift. It was an easy walk to the old town center. They took my AMEX credit card with no problem. The view from the room balcony was not too great.

Room Tip: see if you can get a room that has a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed at the hotel in May, and only because there were no rooms available within the walls of Rothenburg. The staff are friendly, the hotel is clean and the breakfast is good. It was definitely overpriced considering you can (usually) find a hotel with charm and character in the old city for the same price or less. The hotel rooms are large but lack charm, and there is no A/C which means in warmer weather the room will be stuffy. I wouldn't recommend the beds for someone with back problems. The hotel is a short walk to the wall and to the train station. If you don't have an option in the walls of Rothenburg this is a good, basic option.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We were driving by and simply needed a hotel room to stay in, and arrived without reservations. The woman at reception was friendly and very helpful in showing us rooms and explaining the amenities and prices. She was also very helpful in finding us good parking for our car.

The rooms were basic, clean and functional, and the Internet was free, reliable and fast. A continental breakfast was also included. The hotel was also very nicely situated about five minutes from the walls of Rothenburg. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

Is on a corner intersection, but noise not too bad. Gas station on corner, great to get munchies. Great resturant across the street. Walking distance to the walled city. ALL day shopping!! Breakfast was the best that we had on our 5 country trip. Staff very helpfull and spoke english well. GREAT piilows and comforters.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

The service there is really good, but the rooms really need to be updated. The breakfast that was included was nice, but internet was not included in the price. The location is about a 10 minute walk to the town square so that is a plus, and parking is really easy there too. Everything was good, but the rooms, the bathrooms and the beds all needed to be updated. My wife said it gave it character.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to City Partner Hotel Merian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Partner Hotel Merian

Address: Ansbacher Strasse 42, 91541 Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 45 hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Partner Hotel Merian 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The privately run Merian Hotel is located on the edge of the Old Town of Rothenburg.In only 8 minutes you can walk to the city walls which remain fully intact.The family atmosphere in the hotel is enticing due to the friendlyness of the owner and the staff. You can easily reach your room with the lift. Free wifi is available in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your City Partner Hotel Merian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Partner Hotel Merian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.