We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Somewhat Different Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Herrnschloesschen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Herrnschloesschen to your Saves list
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herrngasse 20, 91541 Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Bellingham WA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A Somewhat Different Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Based on the rave reviews on tripadvisor, I chose this hotel for our 4 night stay in Rothenberg, and we were looking forward to this quiet stay toward the end of our month long trip in Malta and Germany. Things got off to a bad start right away. We had booked a junior suite with the hotel manager directly via email and had a confirmation. When we arrived we were told that there were no junior suites available, but they could put us in their largest deluxe room. I asked how this could happen in an 8 room/suite hotel. The person that checked us in and then the manager gave a lot of odd "supposed to be" explanations, and then the next day the manager said something about how Booking.com must have made an error. I reminded her that I hadn't used that service and had booked with her directly. She blew that comment away with some chatter. It was all very strange. We accepted the room, the Amaryllis, which was large and quite nice.

I agree with the very positive comments people have made about the hotel itself and the general eagerness to assist the guests. The restaurant was closed when we were there, and we were advised about this in advance which was good. What we didn't understand was that there were no inside areas available for common use in the evenings. There wasn't a lounge available for sitting to read. This probably wouldn't matter in the summer when their garden areas would be delightful, but it did this time of year.

We found the room to be very comfortable and the bathroom was large and well lit. The bathrobes were very small, and didn't approach fitting two tall people. There was an old schrank in the room, but the hangers provided were too big for the area where they hung, so we couldn't close the door. The location of the hotel made for easy access to the areas inside and outside the wall, and there were several places to dine at night.

My dissatisfaction with the handling of our confirmed reservation was increased when at check out, the manager tried to pass off giving us a discount for the problem, by "discounting" a rate for the Amaryllis room that was inflated from the rate for that room which we were offered in an email earlier for the same dates. In essence, for the inconvenience of not giving us our confirmed room we got a discount of 5 euros a night. We did not like this deception, and it seemed cheap for a place of such repute. They were gracious about driving us to the area train station gratis upon our departure.

I must say that this is the most critical review I have ever written, and I don't even like doing it. However, we thought this was cavalier treatment from a hotel so consistently praised. I gave the hotel a good rating for the possibilities for another couple, not for how we were treated.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
62
241
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pittsburgh
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Our family with girls 20 and 23 visited several places in France and Germany. hotel Herrnschloesschen was the best hotel AND dinner we had all week. The previous reviews have said it all but the staff was amazing, the manager even hugged me when we arrived. The room, breakfast, welcome drink, car parking, was done to perfection. You have to stay here when you visit Rothenburg ob der tauber!!! It was incredible!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My wife and I traveled to Rothenburg for 3 nights in early October. We've traveled extensively through Europe and this is far and away the best hotel we've ever stayed in. The hotel is beautifully appointed and the staff couldn't be more warm and welcoming. The breakfast is easily the best we've come across in our travels. Our favorite time in the town was in the evening when the outside tourists were gone and the town was ours to wander around. Great visit and we look forward to visiting again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We have been in Germany for over a week now and this is by far the best hotel we have stayed at, and the others were quite nice. Rothenburg is a quaint small town and the hotel is centrally located on a quiet street near the town square. It is in a very old structure carefully restored and maintained. Wifi is robust throught the hotel and the room we were assigned, number 1, was very large and tastefully done. The owners are in attendance and they are very friendly and helpful. There are so many amenities in the room that the list would be too long for the space left. Suffice it to say that when we returned to our room at the end of the day, the beds were turned down and there was a welcome note from the owners with a tray of chocolates. We had an excellent dinner at their restaurant Zurn Höll and are looking forward to the breakfasts we have heard about. We shall return

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, N.H.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Hotel Herrnschlosschen was recently renovated. The upscale rooms are spacious and clean. The hotel staff are pleasant and accommodating. The hotel is located just outside of the town square. As a guest of the hotel, you are permitted to drive into the walled city. GPS is very helpful.

Room Tip: Must walk on top of the wall, go to top the top of the tower in town square, and do the night watchm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Rothenburg is a beautiful place. You should definitely go. Write wherever you would be much better. If you go to Rothenburg, you will surely have to stay at Hotel Herrnschloesschen. The hotel's location is very good. Staff were very friendly and interested. The dinners were wonderful, breakfast was awesome. Definitely take a full 10 points out of 10.

Room Tip: Suites are large and like home
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Just returned from several nights at the beautiful Herrnschloesschen. On reflection we were very pleased to have chosen an intimate little hotel with personalised service for our honeymoon, rather than a large 5-star property. There were lots of little indulgences included in our room rate - our car was parked for us, a turn down service in the evenings, rose petals on our table to surprise us when we came back from dinner, and on our last day we were spoiled with breakfast in bed. We even saw other guests having their GPS programmed by the lovely staff. Wi-fi and minibar with wine was inclusive. Breakfast was not a buffet but customised, our choice of eggs, a big basket of different breads and croissants, yoghurt, muesli, sausages if you wanted, homemade jams. We couldn't eat enough to please them! By the time we were finished at breakfast our room was immaculate for our return - so many little details, at this truly romantic hotel that deserves all its accolades. Meanwhile Rothenburg is a gorgeous village for couples to explore, you can walk the city walls, and the Nightwatcher tour for 7 Euros pp is a must do. One or two days here is plenty, otherwise plan to visit towns nearby to extend your stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Herrnschloesschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Herrnschloesschen

Address: Herrngasse 20, 91541 Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Herrnschloesschen 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come, see and enjoy the new herrnschlösschen, a charming trilogy of hotel, restaurant and garden. During your stay in one of Rothenburgs´ oldest houses, you will definitely sense the outstanding level of hospitality. The unique combination of history and modern spirit is most fascinating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Herrnschloesschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Herrnschloesschen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.