We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Medieval town, nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Herrnschloesschen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Herrnschloesschen to your Saves list
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herrngasse 20, 91541 Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Amazing Medieval town, nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

The town was quite crowded due to a weekend festival, but that added to the charm. Enjoyed every bit of the visit. Lobby ordinary, but service exceptional.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
63
241
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We were staying in another hotel but we happened upon this charming restaurant by chance while exploring the area near the old cloisters (Reichstadtmuseum). You can access the terrace of this restaurant from Klostergasse and the beautiful garden was what first attracted us to this place.
There were just a few tables occupied on the terrace when we arrived for lunch, so we picked an empty one and sat down. When the waitress came over, she was friendly and pleasant. There is a high-quality feel to this restaurant and although the food is not cheap, it is good value for money as the quality matches the price. We ordered the Bratwurst mit Kartoffelbrei and the Kalbsfleischpflanzerl mit Kartoffelsalat, two traditional dishes. Both were tasty and an adequate portion for lunch.
We walked through the main indoor section of the restaurant on our way out and it looked nice as well. Can't say what this restaurant is like in the evening, but it is the perfect place to escape from the main tourist drag of Rothenburg and sit in the quiet garden with a nice glass of wine and a bite to eat.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Herrnschlösschen is one of the most welcoming, comfortable and pleasant hotels I have stayed in. Old-fashioned service (carry your bags, park your car, a welcome drink etc) combined with large rooms and modern facilities are a real winner. The hotel also has a shady garden where you can breakfast or dine if you choose. All in all, a real pleasure to stay in. Not cheap but good value.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

This hotel costs a bit more than other hotels but it is amazing. The service is amazing, the hotel is modern with some very lovely heritage features to remind you that you are staying in a very old building. We had breakfast in the back garden which was lovely. We also had dinner there one night when it started to rain and a few of us wanted to stay outside, then it hailed, but the waitresses still kept coming out to serve us! It was just a summer storm that soon passed, but the staff are glad to accommodate what you want. We also were handed water bottles for the "road" when we left for the day to explore the area which was also a nice touch. We stayed in Room 2 which has been well renovated and although small feels lovely. We did feel the heat a bit at night though but the thick walls of the hotel do help in cooling it down.

Last year I stayed at another hotel in this area and although it was cheaper, I was very disappointed in my stay there - I did not want to return to the hotel room or linger there at all. Herrnschlosschen was the total opposite experience and I will be back as soon as I can get back there - it made this trip completely wonderful, relaxing and you come away feel pampered. Loved the king bed in this room also!

If only all hotels were at this standard!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Stunning small hotel. Service was unbelievably good but discreet. Beautifully renovated property in the centre. The manager was fabulous and should be very pleased with the quality of hotel being run. Limited facilities but this is not was you go to rothenburg odt for. Small things like free wifi, free use of sauna, free minibar (Inc wine and beer), fantastic breakfast etc etc make a difference and this hotel offered it all. Very clean, very organised, tasteful contemporary design, good food. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

If you are looking for a wonderful experience, stay here. From the super friendly staff that invites you for a welcome glass of wine in their beautiful garden to the down comforters on the beds, this is the place!
The rooms were very large, beautiful bathrooms with great bath products. The complimentary mini bar had local German beer, wine, and juices too. The breakfast was very abundant. Beautiful fresh breads, cheeses, meats, and eggs cooked to order. This was all served at your table, a welcome change from the many buffets in European hotels.
Take time to "walk the wall" around the city. Go on the night watch tour, he is very funny and informative. Save time to enjoy the sauna in the basement of this beautiful 900 year old building! The location is perfect, and the staff is some of the friendliest we encountered on our 3 week trip!
It is a bit more expensive, but if you want the best, stay here!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Simply put, wow! This was our favorite hotel during our entire trip in Switzerland, Austria, and Germany! From the moment we arrived and were escorted to the beautiful gardens and given a welcome drink, I knew this was a special place. It is in a hundreds of years old building which has been beautiful renovated. Our room was gorgeous! They think of so many little touches such as special plums in our room at night from the garden with truffles, water bottles when we left via car, a personalized shopping map to help us make our purchases for friends back home etc.. I could go on and on- and the food....oh the homemade marmalades at our breakfast- Amazing! We were so sad that we were only there one night and hope to return. The service was outstanding. We should also add that the town itself is historical and has lots to do. All in all, we were utterly charmed. We shall always hold the Herrnschlosschen in a very special place in our memories and hearts. If you go to Rothenburg ob der Tauber- stay here!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Herrnschloesschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Herrnschloesschen

Address: Herrngasse 20, 91541 Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Herrnschloesschen 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come, see and enjoy the new herrnschlösschen, a charming trilogy of hotel, restaurant and garden. During your stay in one of Rothenburgs´ oldest houses, you will definitely sense the outstanding level of hospitality. The unique combination of history and modern spirit is most fascinating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Herrnschloesschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Herrnschloesschen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.