We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spaetzle-Schwob

Spaetzle-Schwob
Milchmarkt 6, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
49-9861/6068
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 99 Restaurants in Rothenburg
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Woodinville, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Eat here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

My wife and I, having grown up in german families, were looking forward to great spaetzle in Germany. We had found some at a few places in Munich and Garmisch, but it was nothing to write home (or in TripAdvisor) about -- at one place it was more like bad fettucini than spaetzle. Then we went to Spaetzle-Schwob. My wife, daughter and I each had a different plate that featured their Spaetzle. It was wonderful. Plump, tender, bite-size pieces of perfectly cooked spaetzle in very nice sauces -- my daughter had a cheeze sauce (german macaroni and cheeze), my wife had mushroom, and I had the rindsroulade.

But, the beyond the great food, here's the amazing thing...
We left the restaurant and walked around the town. About a half hour later, the waitress/proprietor found us walking in the market square. She handed my wife her purse (with our passports and other important items) that my wife had unknowingly left at the restaurant. Although it's a small town, she must have been walking all over the town to try to find us. We were so appreciative.

So go their for the great Spaetzle and be sure to thank the waitress for us.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    18
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
United States
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
“Really Nice Rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Very nice rooms and a very good breakfast. Extremely reasonable considering its location in the heart of Rothenburg.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Traditional food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

This was somewhat out of our kids usual fare but we all loved it - particularly the Pfannenkuche (sp?). We sat outside on a beautiful sunny evening and had the local beer and wine to go with our meal. Very good value and nice for a change from the "heavier" german fare.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A warning I wish I'd received.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Service was okay, but food was very bad. After having a delicious meal at another restaurant, I was looking forward to the spaetzle at this establishment. It was one of the few places open on a Sunday night. Food didn't taste fresh, schnitzel was tough, gravy was salty and clearly from a package. The spaetzle, which should have been excellent was very bland, now I realize that it's supposed to be a base for other ingredients, but it was cold and tasteless. Just do yourself a favour, remember this review and go elsewhere, lest this meal detract from your visit of this wonderful town.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Gasthaus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

According to my son, they had the best spaetzle he ate during our recent trip. Excellent service with a great atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spaetzle-Schwob also viewed

Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
 
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
 

Been to Spaetzle-Schwob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spaetzle-Schwob, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.