We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small gasthaus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spaetzle-Schwob

Spaetzle-Schwob
Milchmarkt 6, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
49-9861/6068
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 99 Restaurants in Rothenburg
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
Top Contributor
490 reviews 490 reviews
295 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
“Great small gasthaus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

This was our second stay/eat at Spaetzle-Schwob (gasthaus Edith). The food is wonderful. I had a very tasty pork tenderloin dish with spaetzle and cheese, baked in the oven. My wife had a nice pork dish as well. This is our favorited restaurant in Rothenburg.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    18
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Little Restaraunt!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011 via mobile

This great little restaurant is hidden off a side street a couple blocks from the main town square. The food was delicious and a great value, my girlfriend and I ate dinner for $26.00 euro, we each had an entree and a beer. The schinitzel was really good, and the Spatzle was awesome and is their specialty. Get there early, they only have about 6 tables inside and a few out front. This was a great find in a very touristy city.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlett, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best Meal in Rothenburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

This was the best restaurant that we ate at while in Rothenburg. It was a pleasant evening, so we sat outside. My daughter had the Cheese Spaetzle, which she enjoyed very much. I had the Spaetzle with Mushroom sauce. It was to die for. No joke! My wife had the Rouladen and again it was over the top. Great portions and the prices were reasonable. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“A warm welcome and good Franconian cooking --”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Our party of five, including our two-year-old grandson, arrived on a Sunday afternoon about twenty minutes before lunch was scheduled to end. We wondered whether we'd cut it too close, but in fact the very friendly woman in charge put us at a pleasant outdoor table and served us a very fine lunch. Spaetzle (surprise!) make a fine specialty -- tasty, nicely browned -- and the pork and beef dishes are really good too. We weren't rushed along -- in fact it turned into a fine leisurely Sunday lunch. Prices are more than fair as well -- I would definitely recommend Spaetzle-Schwob and hope to return --

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
Top Contributor
490 reviews 490 reviews
295 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
“Finally ... we found a great restaurant in Rothenburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

Great German/Franconian food in Rothenburg. The small restaurant was wonderful. We had two different spatzle meals. Both were outstanding. This was our third overnight trip to Rothenburg. The other trips had left us wanting for decent food. No more. To top off the experience, the restaurant served great local bier (Engel, from nearby Crailsheim) keller (an unfiltered bier). We tipped a number of these 1/2 liters.

The restaurant is two blocks east of the rathaus/markt platz. We stayed in their hotel above which is how we found the restaurant. When we return to Rothenburg we'll definitely stay and eat here again!

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spaetzle-Schwob also viewed

Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
 
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
 

Been to Spaetzle-Schwob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spaetzle-Schwob, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.