We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just if you have extra time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Medieval Double Bridge

Medieval Double Bridge
Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 34 attractions in Rothenburg
Type: Bridges, Historic Sites
Attraction Details
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“just if you have extra time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

the walk form the castle gardens is very nice, giving you another angle to the old town, but the actual bridge does not have any special appeal.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice hike and lovely view back up the hill to the city walls”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

This is a hike for returning visitors as well as those looking for a little excersise. While relatively unremarkable, the sense of history below the ancient city walls gives one a sense of what potential attackers faced, an uphill battle if ever there was one... only to be greeted by arrows and hot oil pouring out of the city gates.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester,NH
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Double decker Bridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

The walk back up(UP) hill is well worth a stroll to the bridge. It is a very large span similar to Roman aqueducts. Cars and trucks drive over it daily.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice place for fleeting visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

You can easily do Rothenburg in an afternoon providing the weather is good.

I have happy memories of the place as I spent a month there over 20 years ago learning German at the Goethe Center. However, its attractions pall very quickly as it is very small and I would not recommend anyone to stay more than one night unless using it as a base for the surrounding area.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Don't Miss this Historic German Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We visited Rothenburg on our trip south from Berlin in September 2010. We only had an afternoon to visit so we did not get to see sll the many museums and attractions that are available. I was enraptured by the entire experience. It was like stepping back into medieval Bavarian Germay in the 12th century. The town began in 900. In 1070, The Counts of Comburg-Rothenburg built Rothenburg castle on the mountain above the river Tauber. In 1142, Konrad von Hohenstaufen, who became Konrad III (1138–52) the Roman-German King, built the Stauffer-Castle Rothenburg. In 1170 the city of Rothenburg was founded at the time of the building of Staufer castle. The centre was the market place and St. James' Church. The oldest fortification is the old cellar / old moat and the milk market. The city walls and towers were built in the 13th century. The White Tower and the Markus Tower with the Röder Arch have been preserved. On the west side of the Town Hall Square is the Rathaus (town hall). The Gothic part of the building (at the back) was built around 1250, and the attached front Renaissance building was started in 1572. The building served as the seat of government for the city-state during the medieval ages. The Town Hall Tower at the east end of the city is open daily for visitors to climb. It is alomst 61 meters high (200 ft). At the top of the tower there is an entry fee of 5 euros which allows entry into a room from which beautiful, scenic views of the town and surrounding country side are available. The town's shops have all sorts of beautiful German handicrafts including nutcrackers, clocks, Christmas decorations and traditional German lederhosen and dresses. Our time in Rothenburg was one of my favorite experiences on my trip to Germany.

Visited September 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medieval Double Bridge also viewed

Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
 
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
 

Been to Medieval Double Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Medieval Double Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Medieval Double Bridge to your Saves list