We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, tidy and very friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Fuchsmuehle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pension Fuchsmuehle to your Saves list
Pension Fuchsmuehle
Taubertalweg 103 | 91541 Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber, 91541 Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save €4 on select meals
Ranked #2 of 36 Rothenburg B&B and Inns
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean, tidy and very friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Rothenburg ob der Tauber is a beautiful medieval town, that you should not miss. The Pension is just at the foot of the hill, nice walking though the forest to the town. Room are very clean, huge and quiet. The buffet breakfast is ample and tasty. The owners are really nice and friendly. I stayed there with my son and would highly recommend to families or anybody wanting to stay a few days in that neighborhood.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    14
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
42
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a beautifully renovated corn-mill by the river in the Tauber valley just outside the town walls.
We were given a town map and directed to the path up to town. We chose the steep walk but there is always the option of driving. We were offered a torch in case we wanted to walk back when it was dark.
We were apprehensive that the water wheel was turning and might disturb our sleep but it is stopped at night.
The breakfast was good value at €7 and we were allowed to leave our car for a couple of hours after checking out.

I slept very well but those who sleep on their backs might find the bed too soft.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Pension Fuchsmuehle is a lovely family-run bed & breakfast set in a charming location next to the river. We were greeted by Alex who was very friendly and helpful, and showed us to our room which was very spacious, clean and comfortable.

We only stayed one night but made the most of our time in Rothenburg by climbing the steep hill over the river early on the first evening to take a wander around and enjoy dinner. Yes it is a steep climb, but to me it adds to the special charm of this place.

Breakfast the next morning was very good and then we set off back up the hill to enjoy Rothenburg some more before moving on. We were able to leave our car parked at the pension which was great.

Pension Fuchsmuehle represented excellent value – it was one of the cheapest places we stayed in our month long European visit – and it was definitely one of the best. A special place we would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

we stayed here for 2 nights. Very nice place, the owner is very helpful. It helps if one has car as a little out of place but it has its own charm and would recommend it to all. The mill ,makes some noise but is turned off at night. Although we stayed when it was really hot summer weather, the lack of AC did not bother us,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed here middle of June 2013. We had a one bedroom. I asked for a quiet room and was given room away from the mill, facing the yard. (Mill was not working when we were there because water levels were low). Eco friendly B&B, clothes are line dried, juices and milk are bio friendly and I read that they sell the extra electricity from the mill to the town. We had a car and drove to the gates of Rothenberg and parked just outside the gates. A 7 minute drive, but I could not see myself walking all that way and then walking about the town all day :-)
There is a small castle across the road and the whole area is picturesque.
Breakfast had cold meats, cheese, fruit, yoghurt and hard boiled eggs with fresh small rolls. Internet worked fine with us and there is a small fridge on the main floor filled with water, wine or beer (honor system, you write down how many you have taken).
I enjoyed being out of the town itself and out in the country, even though it is 7 minutes drive. Does not have A/C, but the temperatures were 21 during the day, so we were fine. A very relaxing stay and recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavullia, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Historic Mill in the valley of the Tauber, beautifully restored, we slept in the big family room under the roof.
Very good breakfast (don't miss it!), the town of Rothenburg can be reached with a little walk (the owner gave us a torch for the way back!) through an old wooden bridge.
A travel in time, we fell asleep to the sound of the water of the river...magic!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This was a nice little historic house just outside Rothenburg o.d.T. It is on the same road as the medieval bridge--which was a nice scenic walk from town. You also can take a shorter route to town by climbing a really steep (but fairly short) hill--which we did every morning. (Please note... everyone calls this a climb. It really is--my husband and I are in pretty good shape but half way up the hill we both stopped talking, a little short of breath! Thankfully you can make it up the hill in just a few minutes and there is a little bench after the steepest part if you want a rest.)

The room was very large--particularly for European standards. Breakfast was wonderful (although they do charge you separately for it). We also enjoyed that they have a drink cooler downstairs so that you can come back to the hotel and sit outside with a beverage.

On the downside... my husband complained that the hotel smelled like cats. I'm not nearly as sensitive to these smells, but he mentioned it several times--so it probably does. I never saw a cat, but there is a picture of one on the business card, so they might have some around. In addition, I think the towels are all line-dryed without any fabric softener. They were like sandpaper until you got them a little damp. Not a huge deal, but if you care about that type of thing... know that you won't be getting plush soft towels! Also, we were in room 1, which faced the mill wheel. This was pretty loud when it was running. They do shut off the wheel at some point to reduce the noise, but even without the mill wheel, there is essentially a river rushing right outside your window, which is pretty loud--particularly in the summer when you're window is your A/C unit and will be open all night. We were not bothered by the water noise (it was nice white noise), but if you are sensitive to noise then you might want to request a non-courtyard room. We also couldn't get the wireless internet to work. We didn't try overly hard, either, though--we asked for the password, but it didn't work and we didn't follow up--just waited until we were back in Kissing to access wireless.

Room Tip: We were in room 1, which faced the mill wheel. This was pretty loud when it was running. They do sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension Fuchsmuehle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Fuchsmuehle

Address: Taubertalweg 103 | 91541 Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber, 91541 Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuchsmuehle in the Medieval town of Rothenburg ob der Tauber offers country-style rooms with free Wi-Fi internet. The historic Old Town is just a 15-minute walk away.Decorated in warm colour schemes, all of the rooms at Fuchsmuehle come equipped with satellite TV channels and a private bathroom.A breakfast buffet featuring organic and fair trade products can be booked for each morning.Drivers are welcome to use the guest house’s free parking spaces, and the A7 motorway is just 4.5 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pension Fuchsmuehle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Fuchsmuehle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.