We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, felt like family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Landhaus Kossel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Landhaus Kossel to your Saves list
Landhaus Kossel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hohenstrasse 8 | Hopfen am See, 87629 Fussen, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Fussen
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent hotel, felt like family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Our first trip to Fussen, in fact our first trip to Germany. This hotel was about as good as it could get. Beautiful Bravarian scenery could be seen from the room's terrace, and it's location was quaint, with excellent restaurants nearby and a excellent walking trail just steps from the door. We stayed for 8 nights, and always awoke refreshed and ready to start our day of touring the local castles, of which there are plenty.

The breakfast in the morning was an outstanding mix of fruit, eggs, bacon, and assorted deserts. I never felt hungry afterwards. The staff was friendly and did laundry for us for 10 euro.

Possibly the only negative with this hotel was it's spotty internet access. Although we could always connect, there were times in the day that the speeds were very slow (probably from other travelers). Other then that, this was an excellent stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    9
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
22
26
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mt. Pleasant, SC
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

I have just returned from a week in beautiful Bavaria, Hopfen Am See, to be specific. I saw tons of Bavaria but was lucky enough to return home every night to the Landhaus. It was just so lovely and charming. My room was clean, spacious and decorated in the Bavarian manner. I just loved it. My windows overlooked the stable area and that was really nice. I got to hear the horses nickering and stomping around in their stalls. The church bells that some have complained about were really lovely sounding to me and not intrusive at all.

I could devote an entire chapter to the breakfasts that were served every morning. They were so generous and delicious. The breakfast area is decorated beautifully and the entire experience was delightful.

Anyone would be fortunate to enjoy a stay at the Landhaus Kossel or Koessel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

We stayed at the Landhaus during our Bavarian Castle tour and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel was very well kept and clean. The breakfast served each morning was outstanding with a wide array of cheeses, meats, breads along with eggs and pastry. The view of the mountains was breathtaking each and every day/evening. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

We stayed at Landhaus Kossel for only two nights but I wish it could have been longer. It is located in a quaint little community just a block away from a beautiful mountain lake with unobstucted views of the mountains and a lovely walking path around the lake. As we arrived we were greeted by name like family friends, shown to our rooms which were both large suites inlcuding spotless and modern kitchen and bath. then given the key to the front door to come and go as we pleased. Yes, there is a "list" of starter supplies provided but this is exactly as we have found all first class French gite type accomidations in Europe. And this one is definately first class. The whole place is beautifully decorated in country bavarian style and looks brand new. The breakfast was more than generous breads, meats, cheese and cereals and we always had fresh coffee. And if you have the opportunity to actually stay long enough to use it - there is a grocery store just a few doors away for supplies. Per our hostesses recommendation we ate supper at the Riverie just down at the waterside - excellent Italian but also a full menu of other choices. Then we enjoyed our evening with our adult children relaxing and playing cards in the spacious dining area of their suite. Yes, there are faint country smells but no piles of barnyard or anything remotely like that. The grounds around the hotel are neat and well maintained. We only noticed the church bells once but were never bothered by it - in fact it was an amazingly tranquil and beautiful setting. We would definately go back and recommend it to anyone looking for a cozy country get away in a beautiful tranquil setting.
Just wanted to add that our purpose in staying here was to go on a day tour of the area with Astrid Bauer of European Castle Tours http://www.europeancastlestours.com/
We booked a special private tour with Astrid as there was no other tour available just the day we wanted to be in the area. We could not have been happier with the tour. We were picked up at our hotel promptly at 9:00 am. by a clean and new mercedes van. Astrid had every detail planned. We never waited more than 10 minutes to get into any of the castles, by passed long lines of people waiting on the bus and had every question anwered to our satisfaction in perfectly fluent English. We saw all the attractions of the area but at a pace that was comfortable and relaxed. We are nobody special but Astrid made us feel like royalty. I highly recommend any tour she would orgainze - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
golf4fun09
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2008

The Landhaus Kossel was part of a Tour Package booked thru Castles of the World tour guide Astrid Baur.

It was what I would describe as a very lovely Bavaria Inn. The breakfast was included - fresh everday with the traditional German food but with some American breakfast choices.
The rooms were clean and roomy.
The view was fantastic but what made it so special for me was it took me back to my childhood when I would visit my aunt's farm.
The great flowers, horses and open spaces.
I would stay again at The Landhaus Kossel if I ever returned to Bavaria, Germany.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
groningen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

We have been in Landhaus Kossel for five nights.We were very surprised when we entered our room.
It was beautiful,large, clean,very comfortable and from the balcony we had a very fine view.
We felt immediately at home.
We also loved the freedom to come and go,because we got the key of the front door.
We loved the great typical german breakfast very much.
The parking was good and safe.
The owner very kind.
So we have had a very pleasant stay in this hotel.

  • Liked — the room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2008

The Landhaus Kossel promised us a suite with living room, bedroom, kitchen and balcony, so my wife and I were expecting a sort of luxury hotel in the country. But that's not exactly what it turned out to be.

The first impression was the powerful smell from the large piles of manure by the cow-barn next to the front door. Second impression was the bell – the large loud bell - in the church across the street, which banged at length every fifteen minutes. As we found out next morning, the longest and loudest banging is at 6 am.

Inside, we were led up three or four flights of stairs to the “suite” which did indeed include kitchen, balcony, a large dining/ living room and several rooms with beds in them. Sort of like a dormitory or barracks, except that's not being fair to dormitories and barracks. For example, the info sheet in the room included the following item (my rough translation): “A start-packet of toilet paper, coffee filters, etc, is provided for free; if you need more, we will be glad to sell it to you.” Neither my college dormitory nor my army barracks charged me for toilet paper. Actually, this place is most like a youth hostel, except that it costs more.

They serve a typical German breakfast – bread, cold cuts and yoghurt, coffee, tea and juice – which we tried the first morning. It was good, but not worth 12 euros per person.

We had booked for a week, but tried to check out after the first night, and the first early wake-up by the six a.m. bells. But the landlady threatened to charge the entire week to the credit card we had reserved with, and we found the other nearby hotels were full up. So we stayed out our week. When we got used to it, it wasn't so bad.

But look ouf for the loud noises, strong odors, and paying for toilet paper.

  • Liked — lots of room
  • Disliked — smell of manure, sound of bells
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Landhaus Kossel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landhaus Kossel

Address: Hohenstrasse 8 | Hopfen am See, 87629 Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Fussen
#7 Family Hotel in Fussen
#10 Romantic Hotel in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Landhaus Kossel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Landhaus Kossel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landhaus Kossel füssen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Landhaus Kossel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.